MB or refurb MBP or wait for Santa Rosa?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by RedTomato, Oct 25, 2006.

1. RedTomato macrumors 68040

Mar 4, 2005
    .. London ..

Now that the C2D MBP's are out, I'm considering upgrading, but would like a bit of advice.

I'm trying to decide between getting a MB or a refurb MBP (not C2D) or waiting till Leopard / Santa Rosa.

Current setup: PB15'' 1.5 GHZ with 1.25GB RAM, which is working fine now after a recent repair.

Reasons for upgrading:

1. I'm studying theatre lighting design, and some of the programs I'd like to use are on Windows.

2. I use sign language a lot, and the integrated iSight would be *very* helpful. I already own an external iSight, but I hardly ever use it as it is just too much clutter, the cable is too long, it doesn't perform well in low light (the light level typical in my room), adjusting it so that it takes in my face as well as my hands is a pain when using the laptop attachment, and I've ended up never taking it out of the drawer. I'd love to sell it.

Prices in the UK:

MB = £750
    MBP 15'' refurb £930 (37% discount)

Other option: wait till Santa Rosa (6months? ) and see my PB15 go down in value even more. (but get Leopard free)

The extra speed of a C2D over last week's MBP doesn't really bother me. I do some video editing on my PB15, and I'd be happy with a MBP, C2D or not.

The big advantage of a MB is it's smaller and lighter than an MBP, but it doesn't seem all that much of a difference.

Should I wait till C2D pops up on the refurb site, or the MB gets C2D?

I don't think I can wait till Santa Rosa, and I'm not sure if it will make that much difference over the benefits of being able to start using Windows and the integrated iSight.