MB supports 2048x1536

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by orangemacapple, Jan 23, 2007.

  1. orangemacapple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #1
    specs for apple macbook says it has: Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 950

    intel says the GMA950 supports Up to 2048x1536 resolution for both analog and digital displays:
    http://www.intel.com/products/chipsets/gma950/

    donkey-poo! i bought a dell 24" because it supports 1920x1200 (the smallest monitor with the max resolution [without the 23" apple price tag]

    why does apple only say 1920x1200 is supported?
     
  2. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #2
    Well, I know the MB is limited to using only 64MB of the RAM, while on other Intel boards you can assign up to 224MB to the video card. That might have something to do with the max resolution it can push.
     
  3. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #3
    I guess it depends on how much VRAM the GMA950 gets to have. In Apple's case its 64MB which may only be strong enough for 1920 x ....

    Maybe if it had say 128/256 then maybe you would get 2000+ pixels
     
  4. 4np macrumors 6502a

    4np

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    because the lcd does not support higher resolutions?
     
  5. orangemacapple thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #5
    I thought it may be a firmware limitation like the 802.11n has or something.
    if it's a physical ram limitation....
    can i put more cockroaches on my video card?
     
  6. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #6
    No. It uses the main RAM in a shared configuration with your CPU.
     
  7. orangemacapple thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #7
    I guess I'm just stuck with a beautiful display. It's just when i see something that i might already have and can't use yet, i get all greedy and hyper -- like the airport "n".

    I'd pay $1.99 for a firmware upgrade for ability to have the extra resolution. Sometimes usefulness has no bearing on what I think I want.
     
  8. pip11 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #8
    are you saying that the MB can't do 1920x1200? I have done 1680x1050 on mine...it works fine over DVI (though looks pretty bad over VGA). Desktop effects tend to be sluggish though, like the dashboard zoom-in, and frontrow effects. If I used the external monitor a lot, I'd probably get an MBP next time

    EDIT: after re-reading this thread for the 5th time, I just realized what you mean...the disparity between apple and intel's max resolution is depressing or something. 2048x1536 is an uncommon res, and Apple doesn't sell displays with it, so they left the MB specs at the 23" ACD res.
     
  9. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #9
    Where'd he say that?

    The highest resolution supported by the MacBook on an external display is 1920x1200. It'll be sluggish if you start using all the eye candy because it's splitting that 64MB between the two displays.

    If you run it with the MacBook closed it'll be fine as all the VRAM is dedicated to the large external display.
     
  10. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #10
    The GMA Adaptor may well be willing to support more than 1900x1200 but a single-link DVI port cannot. If the MacBook had an old-school analogue VGA port it would be able to support the max resolution but even with the DVI->VGA adaptor you are stuck with the maximum resolution of a single-link DVI port.
     

Share This Page