MBA 13 + Tv display 1080p

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by DJTaurus, Jul 3, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    DJTaurus

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    #1
    I have my MBA plugged into my tv with Hamilton to mini display port. When I choose 1080p and mirror displays I don't have full screen view. Left and right sides of the image are black. I got full screen on my tv only when I choose 720p.
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    #2
    That'¨s due to MBA native resolution. Have you tried "only TV" mode, so shutdown MBA screen? Can you then put 1080p ?
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Artso

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    #3
    Wait, so you can't use a 1080p TV and the MBA screen at the same time at full resolution?
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    #4
    No, since MBA screen is not 1080p.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DJTaurus

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    #5
    Yes.

    Sorry if I am noob.

    I just want to know if it is possible to have 1080p with full screen at my tv and with mirror display.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Artso

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    #6
    Sorry, didn't realize you guys were talking about mirror mode. I've never owned a Mac but in extended desktop mode you should be able to connect a higher resolution display and use both at full resolution at the same time, right?
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    #7
    Yes, that is what I suppose is possible.

    ----------

    I suppose it is, but I cannot be 100% sure

    http://www.apple.com/macbook-air/specs.html
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DJTaurus

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    #8
    So why when i choose 1080p on my sony tv i dont get full screen but black space on both right and left side of the screen?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DJTaurus

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    #10
    How big is the black space? I have some black space with Win7 laptop.
     

Share This Page