MBA 2011 SSD broken?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by xvzf, Nov 28, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    #1
    Hello,

    I ran hdparm to reset the SSD on Linux and now I can't reinstall Lion, when I boot my (homemade) USB Lion disk, I can't see the SSD as an option to install to. Help!
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Location:
    Washington State
    #2
    You should open Disk Utility (off of your Lion recovery disk) and format your SSD for HFS+ (Mac OS X Journaled).
     
  3. johnhurley, Nov 28, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2011

    macrumors 6502a

    johnhurley

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    #3
    Try booting into disk utility first and erasing the whole SSD drive and then create it all as mac os x ( GUID Partition table with 1 large mac os Extendeded ( journaled ) formatted partition.

    If that doesn't work can you take it into an apple store and have them check it out?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    #4
    The SSD is not listed in Disk Utility.
    Unfortunately there's no Apple Store anywhere near me.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Location:
    Washington State
    #5
    800-my-apple
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    #6
    The Apple Hardware Test code (when trying to use Lion internet recovery) is: 6003F if that gives anyone a clue.
     
  7. castillo4141, Nov 28, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2011

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    #7
    Careful when installing a Linux Distro, if you are not an advanced user, wait until there are some instructions for your MBA model.

    I would try GParted and bring that SSD back to life.

    http://gparted.sourceforge.net/

    Turn it into a USB Live with this -> http://www.pendrivelinux.com/

    There is another option if you want to try: http://www.sysresccd.org/Main_Page (I've never use it, but packages a lot of useful tools)

    Also, you may want to specify why you use hdparm. A quick look here can show you what you've done -> http://linux.die.net/man/8/hdparm

    PD: Sorry for so many links, hope at least one of them is helpful.
     

Share This Page