MBA AC Power Cord

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by CollegeDude13, Jan 10, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    #1
    Hi mac people,
    I'm a new mac user and new here (well, it's all because I just got a MBA from my uncle last week).
    Everything is great so far but I have a little problem with the AC power cord.

    It seems like my uncle bought the MBA in the UK, and the AC power cord is a 3-pin plug which I assume it is what people use in the UK.

    (Like this one)
    [​IMG]


    Does the Apple stores exchange of this AC power cord (3-pin UK plug) for a cord with the normal plug which we use in the US?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Merseyside
    #2
    It's worth a shot though worst case he'll just have to buy one. I shouldn't imagine they'll be expensive.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    #3
    you could just use an adaptor.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Merseyside
    #4
    Can he not wire a US plug onto the cable?
     
  5. macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #5
    What does this even mean?

    Plug adapters are approximately $3 or your country's equivalent at any electronics store.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Merseyside
    #6
    Unscrew the UK plug, screw on an US plug? :confused:
     
  7. macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #7
    Apple plugs don't "unscrew."

    Are plugs that detach from the cord so you can wire on a new one common in the UK? I can think of several major safety (and therefore liability) issues with that practice, but then again I don't understand some European laws.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Merseyside
    #8
    The plug the OP posted can certainly be unscrewed

    I haven't looked at the plug that came with my air but some appliance plugs are usually made of molded plastic so they can't be removed but the fuse can be changed as is required.

    Generally if people swap the plugs and burn their house down it's their fault for doing it wrong. Generally though most plugs can't be changed anymore.
     
  9. macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #9
    It's not an Apple plug.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #10
    Not that I'm aware of, but I'm actually looking for a UK power cord, because I'm heading out of the country in a few weeks. I have an extra US power cord that I'd be happy to exchange with you.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #11
    Just get a cheap cable with a flat plug on the end. They fit in the apple power supply and are dirt cheap. Any electrical/electronics store should have one for you. It'll save you a lot of money.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page