MBA cannot recognize displays

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Psilocybin, Jan 29, 2011.

  1. Psilocybin, Jan 29, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2011

    macrumors 6502a

    Psilocybin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #1
    Anyone have a problem with their MBA not recognising 2nd displays?
    I plug my adapter into the mini display port and the screen on my air flashes/ turns blue for a second than back to the desktop and all my displays just say no signal

    Tried 2 different dvi cables I'm returning my mdp to dvi adapter
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Have you checked Displays section in System Preferences? Does the 2nd display appear there?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Psilocybin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #3
    no it does not
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Ronnoco

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    United States of America
    #4
    Have you tried powering down the MBA with the new display connected and restarting...that worked for me with the Samsung P2770FH that my new 27" ACD just replaced and a Moshie MDP>HDMI adapter...no problems with the ACD as it was recognized immediately (obviously, no adapter necessary)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Psilocybin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #5
    ya tried that as well no go....
    im getting the adapter replaced right now....i guess ill be calling apple if this doesnt work
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Ronnoco

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    United States of America
    #6
    Indeed...although it very well could be the adapter...good luck and report back!
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Psilocybin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #7
    the screen flashes on my MBA when i plug the adapter in, meaning its adding another display so i dont think its the port. We shall see
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Psilocybin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #8
    apparently it is a problem with the port i called apple because it still didnt work with a new adapter.

    need to get the port looked at
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    Ronnoco

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    United States of America
    #9
    bummer...:mad:
    Get'er fixed up!
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Psilocybin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #10
    What I also read was a lot of people are having problems with mdp to dvi, maybe it is because I'm converting it to VGA? I bought a mdp to VGA going to try this. If I can get this to work I'll wait till my warranty is almost over to get a new air
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    Ronnoco

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    United States of America
    #11
    I've only used MDP>VGA (Apple brand) and MDP>HDMI (Moshie) and both worked well, but I did try using a HDMI to DVI cable to connect to my Samsung's DVI port and it worked fine (that was with the Moshie MDP>HDMI adapter)...
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Psilocybin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #12
    Maybe it's just fussy, I'll try this and report back
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Psilocybin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #13
    Well it appears the MBA's have a problem with converting the dvi to VGA. The mdp to VGA works great
     
  14. Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #14
    So were you using mDP to DVI + DVI to VGA adapter? That might not work as IIRC the Apple's mDP to DVI adapter is DVI-D, meaning that it cannot carry analog signal that VGA uses.
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    Ronnoco

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    United States of America
    #15
    interesting...
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    #16
    You are correct. That is why they also sell a miniDP-to-vga adapter. Chaining them together that way is never a good idea...to many points at which something might go pear shaped. Simpler is better.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Psilocybin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #17
    hmm..i dont know why i missed that well thanks for the explanation guys
     

Share This Page