MBA for Logic 9?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by huntert93, Nov 5, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #1
    I am thinking of getting a MBA 11" maxed out (1.6ghz, 4gb RAM) to run Logic 9. I saw a benchmark test comparing this specific setup to others, and it was running just behind the 13" MBP (whereas the 13" MBA was running just ahead of the pro). Has anyone tried Logic Pro 9 with their new Macbook Air, especially with this specific setup? Does anyone have any idea how many tracks this setup may be able to run? My projects usually consist of 12-32 tracks in 32 bit mode, although I would like to try 64...

    Would I just be better off going with the 13" MBP or MBA? Honestly the size difference between the two doesn't matter to me, but I do like the size difference between the 11" and 13".
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    chasemac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    In a house.
    #2
    I can't tell you for sure how the MBA would perform running Logic 9 but I would think a MBP would be the logical choice to run Logic 9.;) The MBA takes advantage of the flash drive but if your doing heavy audio work you will need plenty of storage and the MBA drives don't have much. 12-32 tracks on a 11" screen would not work for me unless your are using an external monitor. That goes for the 13" MBP too.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #3
    Thank you, anyone else tried Logic 9 on their new Macbook Air?
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New York City
    #4
    Painfully slow, unless you've never used it on MBP, iMac or Mac Pro before.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    pfjellman

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    not only slow, but the full install including soundbeds and loops takes almost 60GB of space. not to mention each song/project can be several gigs. you'd rip through that 128GB drive in no time.

    if mobile logic is your deal, a MBP is definitely your best bet. not to mention most audio interfaces require firewire. otherwise, get an imac and throw in an SSD boot drive for even better performance.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Location:
    All around the world.
    #6
    I don't know what you are trying to do with it, but it's far from being painfully slow here, on a 1.6/4/128 11.6 MBA.
    granted, i cannot run as many virtual instruments as on my MB 2.4Ghz, but i can definitely get work done.
    I have't ran any "tests" and don't plan to, but i can tell you that it's more thn enough for me when i am on the go.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Location:
    All around the world.
    #7
    Again, not true.

    There are plenty of high quality USB interfaces that work well with both the MBA and MBP lines.
    Apogee one, Native Instruments Kontrol, 1, etc.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    pfjellman

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #8
    yes, but he's saying he wants to have 32 tracks or more, possibly 64. i don't think that would work (at least not well) on an 11" MBA.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #9
    For my purposes, usb is usually fine. I hardly record more than one source at a time.

    These benchmarks:
    http://www.macworld.com/article/155224/2010/10/macbookairbto_benchmarks.html
    place the "ultimate" macbook air 11" just below the 13" mbp (score of 94 vs 106), so would these results apply to using Logic 9 and other pro apps as well? Does the SSD give it an advantage for recording audio? On the other hand, it seems the slower processor would severely weaken performance.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New York City
    #10
    Ok.. some people here are either masochists, or non professional musicians.
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Location:
    All around the world.
    #11
    yup, masochists:

    a) who carry multiple laptops for shows and/or installations

    b) sound designers who need a light, portable rig for foley recording or on location editing

    c) Keyboard players who use Apple Mainstage rigs for simple Virtual Instruments playback, with low sample content.

    I can add plenty more, if needed.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    #12
    I have the 11,6" 128 gb, 2 gb ram, and have Logic 9.1.3 installed.
    It's true that this setup is definitely not as fast and powerfull as my 3 year old iMac 24" (2,4 ghz, 4 gb ram asf.)
    I ran a test with my new Macbook Air. stereo audio-file, 24 bit 44 khz, 1 minute long. For each track I put on a space designer reverb with its default preset, and put on a copy of the stereo-file on each track as well. The idea is to see how many tracks it's possible to open with a reverb added before Logic report a "too slow" message. The test has to run without any hickups the whole minute! The test with my iMac gave me around 60 tracks before it couldn't do any more tracks. The Macbook Air did 40 tracks before it stopped. Thats with a 1,4 ghz, 2 gb ram! I think thats processor-power enough for me for "on-the-road"-ideas and such. I would think twice if this was the only machine I had. Then I would have bought the MBP. But as a second machine, for a "on-the-road"purpose, I am more than satisfied!
    b.r. andershoeg
     
  13. M87
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    #13
    Logic Express 9 runs great on my MBA. I'm not a "professional" making songs with 200+ tracks or anything though. I use a drum plugin, a few tracks with the the built in guitar amp modeling and a few synth tracks and it handles it fine.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    #14
    Thanks andershoeg - sounds like it runs pretty well even on the base 128 model
     

Share This Page