MBA (Late 2011 - 4GB RAM, 128GB, 11') 64bit or 32bit?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Stanoefc, Dec 18, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    #1
    Ok so im getting a MBA 11' for christmas and I am going to be programming Java on it and I will be using Eclipse. But, the thing is, when I go to download Eclipse off the website, it shows this;

    Mac OS X 32 Bit
    Mac OS X 64 Bit

    What is the MBA's? 32 or 64?

    Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    64 bit
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Good to know, I'm also getting an air for Christmas and I've heard jcreator doesn't work for Mac, so I'll have to find something else.
    Only one more week of windows!

    Have you heard if Xcode is good for java programming?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    GreatDrok

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    IntelliJ would be my recommendation since I spend a fair bit of time writing Java code. Eclipse is fine too.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    #5
    Xcode no longer suppots Java programming.


    Is everyone sure that the 2011 MBA with Lion on is a 64bit?

    Thanks.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    #6
    All Apple computers have been equipped with 64-bit CPUs ever since Core 2 Duos.

    Yes. Look at this screenshot of Activity Monitor. All processes are 64 bit except Chrome's:

    [​IMG]
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    #7
    Thanks a lot, really helped me out.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    monkeybagel

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #8
    Also, Lion only runs with a 64-bit kernel on new hardware. It will run with a 32-bit kernel, but on hardware that is a few years old.
     
  9. macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #9
    Yes, I can speak for everyone in this regard that the 2011 MBA with Lion runs in 64-bit mode by default.
     

Share This Page