MBA processors, is it polite to ask ... ??

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by igmolinav, Mar 17, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #1
    Hi,

    I have a couple questions:

    Is it possible to connect an 11" or 13" MBA to a larger screen
    or display ??

    Is it ok to ask if a processors' update has to take as long as
    October, that is when the last processors update took place ??

    Thank you, kind regards,

    igmolinav
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    #2
    Yes, my MBA 13 is connected to a 30" Gateway XHD3000. Works flawlessly.

    No one knows when the MBAs will be refreshed. The lastest update came late last year (October I believe).
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #3
    Hi,

    Thank you for your message : ) !!!

    I saw that to connect one uses either of the following: Mini DisplayPort to DVI Adapter, or Mini DisplayPort to Dual-Link DVI Adapter, or Mini DisplayPort to VGA Adapter, or Moshi Mini DP to HDMI Adapter with Audio Support.

    When one has the MBA next to the external screen, does it work like having two separate screens, or like one being the continuation of the other ??

    I also assume that one may be able to use the magic or mighty mouse from Apple even with the 11" MBA.

    Thank you, kind regards : ) !!!

    igmolinav
     
  4. Stingray454, Mar 19, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2011

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #4
    When you connect another monitor you can select if it should be mirrored (copy of the original screen) or work as separate screen. If you select the latter, it works like you said - one screen is a continuation of the other. I run my mac like this, it's really easy to set up how the desktop should work, and it's not a problem to run different resolutions on the two screens and such. I like how simple dual monitor setup is on Mac, much better than the PC I had before.

    And yes, the MBA has Bluetooth and USB, so any mouse or keyboard you use with your desktop Mac works with the Air.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Location:
    South Orange NJ
    #5
    I have the 13" MBA ultimate. I connect it to a 24" Apple cinema display and it's flawless. I recommend the apple monitors as the quality is the best on the market. The cinema displays even have all the connections to make it seamless.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    #6

    Just keep in mine, that in order to display 2560x1600 resolution, you will need the DUAL LINK DVI adapter. They are pretty pricey.. around $90 USD.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Location:
    Denver
    #7
    True if you get a monitor that requires a DVI connection but there are monitors from Apple and Dell that have display port connections that do not require this.

    The Apple Cinima Displays are really nice in that they come with a mini display port connector that accepts video and sound, a USB connector that connects the camera mic and 3 port USB hub, and a MagSafe connector to power your Mac laptop. Very clean and quick wiring. And while the price seems expensive, it's very competitive with other monitors with the same feature set (resolution, camera, mic, USB hub, speakers etc).
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #8
    Hi,

    Thank you for your answers : ) !!! I'll look into monitors and I will write here again!

    Kind regards,

    igmolinav
     

Share This Page