MBP and Parallels

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ddekker, Oct 28, 2006.

  1. ddekker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    myself and a friend took his new Macbook Pro and loaded Parallels onto it (along with an upgrade to 1.5 gig of ram) and we first loaded Ubuntu linux, ran great ... fast... seemed native to me (a little trouble with video driver but still ran fine).. next we loaded up Windows XP SP2... the install went without a hitch. now me beign a longtime windows user I was amazed to see the speed that it ran, again at full screen you might not know that the thing is running just in a windows within OS X... very impressive. one thing I did realize is that I need to get rid of my powerbook and get the macbook pro, that thing is sooooo fast, hit an application and not really any bouncing on the dock, the app just fires compaired to mine that bounces a half dozen times before the app comes up... web browsing is lightning fast also.

    Parallels gets two thumbs up from me

    DD
     
  2. xiaoyu04 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Location:
    Merced, CA
    #2
    I've heard great things about parallel, however, does it have support for graphics intensive applications yet? And do we have to purchase upgrades for it over time or is it free? anyone know?
     
  3. 5150 Joker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Location:
    Davis, California
    #3
    Can you run parallels and boot camp on the same machine? Thats what I intend to do.
     
  4. mleary macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #4
    Yes but you will need two seperate installations of Windows... I've heard a future version of Parallels will be able to boot Windows from a partition but for now its restricted to a disk image which lives inside a file.
     
  5. jholzner macrumors 65816

    jholzner

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    Champaign, IL
    #5
    Yes, but you will have to buy two copies of XP and have two seperate installs of the OS. One XP install cannot run in both bootcamp and Parallels.
     
  6. 5150 Joker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Location:
    Davis, California
    #6

    Ah that's a shame. Well I ordered the 120 GB drive (I should've gotten 160) so I guess I can live with two windows installs. Is it difficult to remove the HD in a MBP and replace it with something else? I plan to get a 7200 rpm drive.
     
  7. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    Of course.
     
  8. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #8
    It's moderately difficult. Check www.ifixit.com for details.
     
  9. 5150 Joker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Location:
    Davis, California
    #9

    Wow that is a ridiculous amount of work just to remove the HD. Why didn't Apple just go with a drive bay? Makes me appreciate my Dell--only one screw needed to remove the HD.
     
  10. Clydefrog macrumors 6502a

    Clydefrog

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Location:
    Pittsburgh,PA
    #10

    no XP discs have more than 1 use of the serial
     

Share This Page