MBP, apps now slow to open.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by BarkLan, Nov 8, 2006.

  1. BarkLan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Location:
    NJ
    #1
    On my 17" my apps seem to open much slower since we installed Paralells for my wifes job. Most noticeable with Entourage ( and switching between identities), iPhoto, safari. I'm guessing it is due to the Paralells, I never noticed it prior. It also seems to quit apps slower.... I was thinking of adding 1 gig of RAM to compensate. Any thoughts?
     
  2. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    If you're running Parallels while opening and closing those applications then 1GB of RAM is pretty much the bare-minimum. Throw in another gig and it will be noticeably faster.
     
  3. BarkLan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Location:
    NJ
    #3
    It happens when Paralells is not running....
     
  4. extraextra macrumors 68000

    extraextra

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #4
    You might want to switch to Firefox, it uses less RAM than Safari. Install an iFox Graphite or iFox Smooth theme in Firefox, and it almost looks like Safari, woo.
     
  5. ero87 macrumors 65816

    ero87

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #5
    for me, firefox is MUCH slower than safari. not even close, probably about 7x slower. Try it out, for sure.

    I can't understand why paralells would slow down your computer if it's not open... But extra RAM is always useful.
     
  6. BarkLan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Location:
    NJ
    #6
    i got 1 gig on the way from OWC ;) :D
     
  7. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    You're running Entourage through Rosetta, which might be using quite a bit of your resources. The extra RAM may help it. Having said that, make sure you have plenty of free space on your boot drive too. :)
     
  8. BarkLan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Location:
    NJ
    #8
    But everything was kosher prior to Parallels, as far as i can remember. is the combo of entourage in Rosetta and Paralells?
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    Well, those apps will only use up RAM and CPU cycles when they're running. If Parallels is closed then it shouldn't affect Entourage or the rest of the system in the slightest, other than taking up the physical space on the hard drive that the app requires. If the new RAM doesn't change anything, check Activity Monitor in the Utilities folder to see if there's a process taking up a lot of your RAM or CPU cycles. :)
     

Share This Page