MBP C2D Framerates

Discussion in 'Games' started by MAcNIAC, Oct 31, 2006.

  1. MAcNIAC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    New C2D owners, please post your frame rates here !


    Originally Posted by Jawbreaker
    My 15" (matte) 2.16/2gb/160 arrived this morning. A few observations, very briefly:

    Video performance: first thing I did was a raid in AQ20 in WoW. With all graphics options turned to maximum except terrain distance (min), and full-screen glow on (I like the effect):
    Ironforge AH: 30fps
    Ironforge elsewhere: 60fps
    most outdoor environments: 45fps
    AQ20: 26-35fps in combat



    ----------------
    Suggested format
    ----------------

    CPU : 2.16
    RAM : 2Gb
    Video : ?? Mb X1600
    Game : WOW
    Resolution : native ?
    Quality Settings :
    FPS :
    OS :

    Thanks! I'd post my own results but my MBP hasnt shipped yet
     
  2. Chrispy macrumors 68020

    Chrispy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Location:
    Avon, IN
    #2
    Great thread. Many people are curious about this... including me.
     
  3. Knickfreak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #3
    were you running WoW through OSX or through Bootcamp/Parallels?
     
  4. absurdio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Location:
    RI, Chi, and/or NY.
    #4
    talk to me about hl2. I'm dying to see the results. ...and I won't find out myself for another week or two yet. :p
     
  5. Jawbreaker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New Haven, CT
    #5
    That's WoW 1.12.1 under OS X.

    Running an alt around Teldrassil now with about 64fps.
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    I can't wait for mine to arrive (15" 2.33 GHz). My current system lags in Molten Core and it's quite annoying. 3DMark reckons the new MBP is 76% faster than my old Core 1 :)
     
  7. absurdio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Location:
    RI, Chi, and/or NY.
    #7
    ...really? If that's true, that's...that's a helluva lot of improvement.

    [Edit: wait. maybe by your "old Core 1" you mean something other than the CD MBPs?...still...this thing is going to blow the socks off my tibook.]
     
  8. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    Oops, sorry, it's a Core 1 iMac. I guess I should've mentioned that, although it is listed in my profile.
     
  9. oookye macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    #9
    I'm waiting for my new mbp, its still in shanghai

    anyone in a naxx raiding guild can tell me the fps during thaddius or loatheb?

    I'm probably end up selling my PC if i can raid decently with the mbp
     
  10. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    I was reading today that Burning Crusade should perform better as it will offload more processing to the second CPU :)
     
  11. MAcNIAC thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    results from macworld
    http://www.macworld.com/2006/11/firstlooks/mbpbench/index.php

    ----------------
    Suggested format
    ----------------

    CPU : 2.16
    RAM : 2Gb
    Video : 128 Mb X1600
    Game : UT 2004
    Resolution : 1024 X 768
    Quality Settings : highest
    FPS :64
    OS : OSX

    CPU : 2.33
    RAM : 2Gb
    Video : 256 Mb X1600
    Game : UT 2004
    Resolution : 1024 X 768
    Quality Settings : highest
    FPS :73
    OS : OSX

    CPU : 2.33
    RAM : 1Gb
    Video : 256 Mb X1600
    Game : UT 2004
    Resolution : 1024 X 768
    Quality Settings : highest
    FPS :72
    OS : OSX

    and
    a MB got 17fps
    a MBP CD 2.16 got 59 fps
     
  12. absurdio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Location:
    RI, Chi, and/or NY.
  13. MAcNIAC thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #13
    nice - i'm looking forward to playing hl2 when my mbp finally arrives!
    was the number which hovered around 90-100 in the bottom left the framerate??? (never played hl2 :eek: )
     
  14. hotboiled macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #14
    BEST game ever

    I'm hoping it plays well on a 30" (not native reso)
     
  15. absurdio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Location:
    RI, Chi, and/or NY.
    #15
    Yeah... the game would be worth playing even if there WAS no gameplay and you just got to run around and explore the cityscape.

    But seriously, it probably is in the top five of best games ever made. No. Definitely. I'd be hard put to think of anything better.
     
  16. MAcNIAC thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #16
    a nice set of benchmarks are at barefeats

    http://barefeats.com/mbcd6.html
    has benchmarks for CD vs C2D with PS, aperture etc.

    but their is also this ...

    CPU : 2.33
    RAM : 2Gb
    Video : 256 Mb X1600
    Game : Quake 4
    Resolution : 1440 X 900
    Quality Settings : high
    FPS :26
    OS : OSX

    and this

    CPU : 2.33
    RAM : 2Gb
    Video : 256 Mb X1600
    Game : WOW ironforge auction
    Resolution : 1440 X 900
    Quality Settings :
    FPS : 36
    OS : OSX

    and this

    CPU : 2.33
    RAM : 2Gb
    Video : 256 Mb X1600
    Game : UT 2004 Inferno Botmatch
    Resolution : 1440 X 900
    Quality Settings :
    FPS : 50
    OS : OSX

    and lastly

    CPU : 2.33
    RAM : 2Gb
    Video : 256 Mb X1600
    Game : UT 2004 Inferno Flyby
    Resolution : 1440 X 900
    Quality Settings :
    FPS : 78
    OS : OSX
    :D
     
  17. AlwaysRight macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    #17
    Check out the photoshop and apeture benchmarks on that site. Now that is impressive. I wonder what framerates i will get on my 17"???
     
  18. Daverinfl macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #18
    Finally got my C2D and thought I'd share, I'm loving it.

    CPU : 2.33
    RAM : 2Gb
    Video : 256 Mb X1600
    Game : WOW
    Resolution : 1440 X 900
    Quality Settings : high for everything except Medium Spell Detail and Low Weather Effects
    FPS :UC/Org 60fps, ZG/AQ20 20-30fps in combat
    OS : OSX

    My 1.33/512 G4 PB at times got (literally) 0.1-5 fps in ZG. I'm clearly loving my new machine. It beats some of my guild members custom built windows desktops. Plus the two finger right click is much nicer than CMD-Click.
     
  19. absurdio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Location:
    RI, Chi, and/or NY.
    #19
    I'm actually surprised the Quake 4 framerates are so low. In that YouTube video i linked to, the author was claiming to get 50-60fps on high settings. The other results look pretty good. And, hell, i guess even that 26fps is tolerable.
     
  20. rbarris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Irvine CA
    #20
    MT-GL support is not limited to the expansion pack; it will be part of the December content patch as well; that patch is now in beta testing via our Public Test Realm if anyone would like to try it out.

    The config variable is called "GLFaster" and you need to set it to "1" in the config.wtf file, to engage the multi-core support in this beta. In the final release it will be automatically applied.

    MT-GL presently only works on dual core Intel Macs running 10.4.8 or better.
     
  21. Abulia macrumors 68000

    Abulia

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Kushiel's Scion
    #21
    Nifty. I copied a character to the PTR and downloaded the client the other day. I'll try this out and see if I can break the 200 fps barrier. :D
     

Share This Page