MBP: close lid and stay on aim?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by nimr0d, Mar 1, 2006.

  1. nimr0d macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #1
    is this possible? i'm using adium. But i want to be able to either close the lid and stay on aim while the computers asleep, or close the lid and have the computer itself stay on, so that aim will stay on.
     
  2. therevolution macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    #2
    The computer cannot be simultaneously sleeping and connected to AIM. It should be possible to have it run while closed; I know that PowerBooks can do this when an external monitor is plugged in.
     
  3. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #3
    to get it to stay be on while closed, you need to have a monitor, keyboard, and mouse connected - at least that's the deal with the powerbooks. There's a hack you can download (at least for the iBooks) but it voids warranty - don't do it.
     
  4. nimr0d thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #4
    grrr alllright, i guess i shall just keep the lid open, is there any way to make like a key combonation that will put the monitor right to sleep whenever, instead of me closing the lid.
     
  5. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    What...

    Just go to display prefs and set the display sleep to one minute.
     
  6. AlBDamned macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #6
    Or put the brightness down to zero.
     
  7. nimr0d thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #7
    yea but then everytime i walk out of the room, or even if i'm just sitting here watching TV/reading something on the internet, and i dont touch anything it wil turn on. I'm looking for like a hot corner type of thing like the screen saver. Or a button combo or something.
     
  8. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #8
    hot corner can make the screen saver show up i believe, I don't know about monitor off - check.
     

Share This Page