MBP or Mac Pro for recording and editing music?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by DrGonzo2121, Mar 16, 2007.

1. DrGonzo2121 macrumors newbie

i'm caught between getting a full on MP w/ 30" screen, or a MBP w/ 30 in or 23 in. I'm studying music production and am also planning on using this as a TV/entertainment hub for my dorm room. not sure whether i actually NEED the power of a MP.

Also, Glossy screen or matte on a mbp?

thanks

2. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

Scarlet Fever

sounds like you will appreciate the portability, so i would say the MBP+display is good.
    Make sure you get the biggest HDD available, because music, video and photo production eat HDD space for breakfast. 2GB RAM will suffice, but if you can afford it, 3GB might be worthwhile.
    For the display, people have different preferences. I love the glossy on my MacBook, but some can't stand it. Have a look in an AppleCentre and see what you reckon is best :)

3. Multimedia macrumors 603

Multimedia

You Might Want To Wait And See What's Next For Logic

Were it not for your need for portability, I would say Mac Pro. Can you wait until all the new hardware and software come out by June? Menawhile you will be buying the past and not the future. This will likely include a new Logic 8.

4. DrGonzo2121 thread starter macrumors newbie

yeah, i'm pretty much pulling my hair out waiting for the new stuff to come out... im hoping for new mbps but havent heard when they're coming. has anyone heard anything lately?

5. Multimedia macrumors 603

Multimedia

MBPs May Be Last Due To Santa Rosa Not Out 'Til May

May 9 is the Intel Santa Rosa release date. So I think we'll be waiting until June for a new MacBook Pro and MacBooks.

6. djpl macrumors member