MBP replaced!!!!!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Eluon, Jun 19, 2006.

  1. Eluon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Location:
    Spring, Texas
    #1
    I have had several problems with my MBP 2.0. I had to have the HD replaced and I have a lot of other small issues they didn't fix when i first sent it in (although i told apple about them): sound not working, magsafe not lighting up, computer not restarting each time, etc.

    I called apple tech support today and they realized they couldn't do much for it, and said I needed to send it in.

    I said: "i refuse to send this in. I can't keep losing business when this machine is in the shop. i have spent 3 grand on it and it has been in the shop twice in 3 months? Nonsense. you guys need to work with the store I bought it from to get me a replacement."

    So they were nice and contacted the store I purchased it from. Store manager said if I brought it in and they deteremined it was DOA, I could get a replacement then.

    However, when I got to the store, the manager and guinesses had a different tone and story. They kept saying they "understood" my frustrations with the machine, but that they needed to send it in. I said: "no, you don't understand. for 3 grand, this machine should last longer than 3 months. you are going to have to figure something out."

    this kept going on each time with my voice getting a little more stern and other potential customers hearing it.

    the manager decided to just DOA it then and replace my model with a store credit. So i was able to get the MBP 15.4 2.16ghz instead of my old 2.0.

    Also, since I am in college, I was elgible for the iPod rebate and walked out with a free nano!

    Now that is a great day!
     
  2. technicolor macrumors 68000

    technicolor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Location:
    ><><><><
    #2
    Way to hold your ground!


    Congrats on the replacement
     
  3. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #3
    So you used an education discout to get a machine you make a living on?
     
  4. Acehigh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    #4

    Good thing they didnt see your posts on here. They would of said why dont you use your Mac G5 17in 1.8. =)

    Glad you got your replacement..
     
  5. killr_b macrumors 6502a

    killr_b

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Location:
    Suckerfornia
    #5

    Yeah, I've done it. I took a new Shake class when we got to v.3.5 so I was a student. But I was a working professional too. I got the student discount, but I had to order my PowerMac over the phone because I was at a "school" but not a college or whatever, so they needed verification.
     
  6. Eluon thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Location:
    Spring, Texas
    #6
    I work as a teacher for after school tutoring and in a church. My work is done on my laptop - powerpoint presentations, messages, e-mail, newsletters, etc.

    My laptop does not churn out anything that makes ME a profit, but it is used for my job.

    "losing business" was a wrong way to put it. losing time for work because of w/o a laptop, i can't get my work done.

    forgive me!
     

Share This Page