MBP uses more ram?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by KD7IWP, Feb 28, 2006.

  1. KD7IWP macrumors 6502a

    KD7IWP

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Location:
    American living in Canada
    #1
    When I had a Rev. D Powerbook with 1 gig of RAM, I NEVER had a single pageout ever. With this Macbook Pro I have tons of Pageouts with the same 1 gb of RAM on two sticks (just like on the Pbook). Now I don't know if that is because I have iphoto '06 now since I only had '05 on the Pbook. Anybody else noticing this?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Rosetta uses a lot of RAM although iPhoto shouldn't affect this. Are you using Rosetta much? :)
     
  3. KD7IWP thread starter macrumors 6502a

    KD7IWP

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Location:
    American living in Canada
    #3
    Hmmm I have had office open, but never worked in it. And did not have iphoto open at the same time. So no, I have not been using Rosetta much. But I do see iPhoto taking upwards of 400 mb when it's open.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Was that 400MB of real RAM or Virtual RAM? Also, what were the figures for Office? :)
     
  5. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #5
    Interesting, considering that we needed more RAM because the PowerPC processors were RISC-based and they always need more RAM. That the Core Duo is primarily CISC, it should need less RAM to complete its task. However, being that Mac OS X and the applications are only recently in large scale distribution may have something to do with this. Better tuning should follow.
     

Share This Page