MBP with 2 gig RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by anim8or, Oct 13, 2006.

  1. anim8or macrumors 65816

    anim8or

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #1
    Does anyone have a MBP with 2 gigs of RAM...?

    I was wondering because i want to get one with 2 gigs RAM but have just read that more RAM = More problems!!!

    Anyone care to share their experiences with MBP and 2 Gb of RAM
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    2 Gb SODIMM module unrecognized when tested here.

    The only Mac that has been verified to this point as taking a 2 Gb DDR2 SODIMM is the new iMac Core2Duo.

    Err.. I re-read your post, and it seems to be you are asking about 2 Gb total RAM -- 2 x 1 Gb modules. Yes, absolutely, this is the best configuration for the MacBook and MacBook Pro. There is no indication that more RAM = more problems - quite the contrary.

    However, make sure you are getting RAM from a reputable seller who TESTS and guarantees compatibility of their modules with the MacBook Pro. There are a whole crop of budget PC Generic DDR2 SODIMM modules which have unstable voltage draw, and are unsuitable for the MacBook Pro.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  3. anim8or thread starter macrumors 65816

    anim8or

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #3
    I am askin about 2 gigs total RAM not a 2 gig single SODIMM, but two 1 gig sodimms.
     
  4. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #4
    i have mbp with 1 gb stock ram from apple and 1 gb from crucial, runs fabulously
     
  5. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    I have 3 MBPs under my care all with 2GBs of AppleInserted RAM and haven't had a problem with any of them.
     
  6. timnosenzo macrumors 6502a

    timnosenzo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Location:
    ct, us
    #6
    I have 1 GB from the factory and 1 GB Kingston. Works like a charm. :)
     
  7. cschreppel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    Got 2GB here...granted it's a MacBook, but they take the same RAM. I've been finding that OWC's stuff has been more reliable recently than Crucial.
     
  8. merc669 macrumors 6502

    merc669

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Southern MD, USA
    #8
    15" MBP with 1G Ram Stock and installed another 1Gig From OEC. Works like a champ (except for the 10.4.8 problems a lot of others are having)!!

    Bill......
     
  9. br0adband macrumors 6502a

    br0adband

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #9
    Since I chose to purchase my MBP in an Apple Store here in Las Vegas, I actually purchased a "kit" of Patriot PC2-5300 memory from Fry's before heading to the Apple Store. The price was $219.95 + tax in store, so by the time I got the MBP I was ready to roll.

    Apple charges $175 to do the 2GB upgrade if you make the purchase online - if you buy face-to-face in an Apple Store, they'll charge you $600 and that is the reason I chose to do it myself.

    Good luck, and most definitely, "the RAM is worth the cost... well, not $600 but maybe $200 and some change..." to paraphrase a line from the movie Heat.

    bb
     
  10. WJTW macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #10
    Got 2GB too, which is the most amount of RAM I ever had in a computer, and it felt nice because everything ran faster than before. Even my desktop computer only had 512MB... and the desktop became unbearably slow doing tasks that would otherwise fly in the MBP...

    M config. had only 1GB, but there was a promotion going on which gave another 1GB for free if I were to pay in cash (among other things like a keyboard protector, a laptop bag, etc, etc). :)
     
  11. stevep macrumors 6502a

    stevep

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    I've got 2 gig of Scan Value Select - only cost £48 each stick. No problems at all. Lifetime warranty - I checked before I bought.
     
  12. PowerMike G5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #12
    I have 2GB in my Macbook Pro from datmem ...

    I have always bought memory from them and it has always worked. They also have a lifetime guarentee ...

    Def. max out your RAM, you'll like your machine better :)
     

Share This Page