MBP's X1600 256MB

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by aaronw1986, Dec 14, 2006.

  1. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #1
    I have a Sager laptop, which has a Nvidia Geforce 6800 Ultra card in it (also PCI-E, 256MB). I am wondering if the MBP's X1600 is pretty comparable to this? I am soon to be purchasing a MBP, but the only thing holding me back is the video card. It would be nice to be able to play BF2142 on the MBP, would it run decently? My PC is currently sent away for repairs, go figure...so buying a MBP now is very tempting, but I feel like I should wait till Spring for an upgrade.
     
  2. garethlewis2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #2
    No they are not comparable.

    The equivalent of the 6800 Ultra is the X1800 Mobility. If you are used to playing games on the 6800 at full settings with no stuttering, then you are going to be disappointed. On the other hand. If you are using the machine for photo editing, etc, then the X1600 is fine.
     
  3. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
  4. diadem macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #4
    er... I play bf2, css, eve online ureal and lots more games fine on my C2D MBP, no issues at all :)
     
  5. thebeephaha macrumors 6502

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle WA
    #5
    Same, I play 2142, F.E.A.R., Oblivion, HL2, etc just fine, just crank up the clock speed to like 400/400 on the card or higher if your comp can do it and don't try and run the native resolution. I usually just do 1024x768 and can crank up the other settings just fine.
     
  6. psycoswimmer macrumors 65816

    psycoswimmer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Ehh I posted this on another thread about 5 min ago but I think it was the wrong kind of thread. I'll post again for you guys, you seem like you'd know:

    How will a C2D 20" iMac with 128MB VRAM x1600 run Call of Duty 2? What resolution, what settings, etc. I'm not a hard-core gamer and this is the only game I'll play. And it's really for the multi-player, as there is no multi-player in the Wii version. :mad:
     
  7. sycho macrumors 6502a

    sycho

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    #7
    Ummm, the screen is 1440x900, that is a 16:10 aspect ratio, you are playing the game at a 4:3 aspect ratio, making everything stretched. For proper aspect ratio, use: 1440x900, 1280x800, 1152x720, 1024x640, 800x500. All other resolutions will either not fill the screen, or be stretched. For the sharpest image use 1440x900 or 720x450. 1440x900 with less eyecandy will look better then 1280x800 with a little more eye candy. This is because the image would have to be scaled, which results in a much poorer image.
     
  8. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #8
    BF 2142 runs fine on a 1600 even on maximum settings.

    Anyway BF's graphics are old compared to what is available nowadays.
     
  9. aaronw1986 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #9
    true, but I'm still obsessed with 2142! Glad to know it runs well.
     
  10. thebeephaha macrumors 6502

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle WA
    #10
    I just have it so it doesn't stretch the image, so it doesn't really bother me much, besides the higher res a game is run at the poorer frame rates you will get. I just choose to compromise my high resolution to keep the textures and whatnot at high while still maintaining a playable frame rate.

    Some people hate it this way, others like me prefer it this way, its just really personal preference.
     
  11. JoeKarame macrumors regular

    JoeKarame

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #11
    Well, I have to say I was fairly stunned with the performance of HL2 on my core duo 1 MBP - everything pretty high and as smooth as you like. And I've had the pleaures of playing the game on a high spec PC and an Xbox too - I think the best experience of it has been on my MBP - with the widescreen!

    Oh, to have my beloved machine back!
     
  12. Bunsen Burner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    #12
    If you've got a CD MBP (or if you want to overclock your already upclocked X1600/C2D), get ATITool 0.25 Beta 14. The X1600 (256 MB VRAM) in my 2 GHz MBP overclocks to 480 core, 525 mem (up from 310/297 :rolleyes: ), is a different card when overclocked and will run at this speed all day.

    BB
     
  13. 2ndPath macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    #13
    I usually prefer using a lower resolution (for example 1280x800 on a 1440x900 screen) to reducing the eye candy. The scaling makes the picture less sharp, this is true, but this also reduces artefacts from aliasing.
     
  14. EvryDayImShufln macrumors 65816

    EvryDayImShufln

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #14
    This looks promising. That is quite a bit higher, do you noticce any heat differences or anything else? Also, do you think this will wear down the card or logic board faster? And finally, will these settings stick when you switch over to OS X???

    Oh and also I found a newer version, just wondering if theres a reason you gave that version in particular (difference?)
    Here
     
  15. Bunsen Burner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    #15
    No heat differences. I suppose it could damage the card but I don't think it will: I've been overclocking computers for years with little trouble. The settings will not stick in OS X.

    The newer versions I've tried have not worked.

    BB
     
  16. prism macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #16
    I use to have an Inspiron 9300 with a 256mb nVidia 6800 gfx card and I remember specifically a score slightly above 2000 on 3dMark 05. To my astonishment, my new MBP C2D with 128mb of vram produces a score of 3800+, go figure!!!
     

Share This Page