MDD G4 with Radeon 9600XT?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by DeusOmnis, Oct 24, 2004.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    #1
    Two years ago I got a Dual 1.0 GHz MDD G4 with an nVidia GeForce 4 4800 Ti.

    This year my younger brother got a Dual 2.5 GHz G5 with an nVidia GeForce 6800 Ultra. However, it originally came with a Radeon 9600XT because they could not ship the 6800 quick enough.

    Since I help him out with his computer quite a bit, he gave the 9600XT to me since he didnt need it anymore. However, I'm pretty sure it wont work in my computer, and I really didnt want to just stick it in and find out. Does anyone know if it will work with my computer? Or no?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    from these specs , it doesn't look like you can use it with your MDD.

    you could however, eBay it, and use the money towards a card that you can use with your MDD

    good luck
    V.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
  4. macrumors 65816

    invaLPsion

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Northlands
    #4
    Nobody has tried it as for as I know.

    I don't think it would be an improvement over your Ti-4600 anyways... :cool:

    You could still try it, though, and let others in your situation know if it works. This is a fairly common question.

    The only things I'm worried about are if the card is 4x AGP compatible and if the G4 power supply can handle it... I just don't know...
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
    #5
    I would be careful about saying it 'doesnt work'

    I successfully use a 9600 Pro out of my G5 in a DA 133 bus DP533.

    You need to tape pins 3 and 11 which force it into AGP4x mode. Do not know if your card is the same (being an XT) but I would bet it is.

    This has been discussed elsewhere here... search for G4 and 9600

    http://www.techseekers.net/modules.php?name=Reviews&rop=showcontent&id=71

    the one user (on techseekers) who could not make it work, still does not understand the ADC connector (as it will not be useable). only the DVI out works without the power connection mod, as discussed on that site.
     

Share This Page