MDD Upgrades for the Video Card and Wireless Internet?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by FF_productions, Jul 4, 2006.

  1. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #1
    Hey guys, I need help again upgrading my Dual 1.25 G4.

    I've already ordered a 320 gig drive off of Newegg, so one step is done.

    I need a recommendation for a video card under 200 dollars as well as a STABLE wireless internet adapter. My D-Link adapter is causing havoc as been reported before by many other users, I need wireless internet so I need a recomendation for this PowerMac.

    Thanks guys
    Vito
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Hacked Radeon 9600 and a PCI card with a Broadcom chip on it? Which MDD is it?
     
  3. FF_productions thread starter macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #3
    It's the MDD without FW800, so it was the first one that came out.

    What's a good website where I can get some good wireless internet stuff for Mac?
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    I had a Linksys (Or was it Netgear...) PCI with a compatible chip. It was nice having "Airport Extreme". You might be able to find one if you get the right revision of it.

    http://www.macwireless.com/html/products/11g_11b_cards/11gPCI.php

    Otherwise the hacked 9600 ($69) + wireless card ($80) = $149 isn't that bad.
     
  5. FF_productions thread starter macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #5
    Which video card will let me connect my 17 inch Apple Studio Display to it?
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    Ah, now we have an issue. Getting ADC power is going to cost more money for the card or for a DVI adapter to ADC.
     
  7. FF_productions thread starter macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    The only cards that still supported ADC were G5 only. Those could be hacked down to work on a G4 but the ADC output would only serve for video and not power and USB.

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/AddLogix/MCADVIADC/

    This can take any DVI signal and add on the power and USB needed for ADC. Apple sells there own version as well. You might be able to find someone here willing to sell either or any version of it.
     
  9. FF_productions thread starter macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #9
    Oh my lord...that is going to be expensive...:(
     
  10. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #10
    I would recommend looking for an ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, but it may be a bit out of your price range (although, you may find a cheaper one than I did) as it is $229 after $30 mail in rebate.

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/ATI Technologies/100435058/
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    It doesn't have any ADC though. You'd still have to add the price of the DVI -> ADC adapter though.
     
  12. FF_productions thread starter macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #12
    The only problem is powering my 17 inch Studio Display, if I'm going to have to buy a 90 dollar adapter PLUS a new graphics card, it's definetely not worth it. I might just upgrade to 2 gigs of ram and get my wireless adapter for now.
     
  13. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #13

    Oops, sorry- I must have overlooked that little detail. :eek:
     

Share This Page