"mdimport" keeps eating my CPU!!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by macincar, Jan 13, 2007.

  1. macincar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
  2. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #2
    That's the program that builds the index for Spotlight.
     
  3. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #3
    You're not near 100 %. It shouldn't be that noticeable.
     
  4. macincar thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    #4
    spotlight? why it rebuilt all the time? sometime it just annoying. but at least i know what it is now:)
     
  5. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #6
    Any time you add, change, delete files, the index needs to be updated.

    If you have really busy volumes or folders (for backups or any app that gives the disks a good workout) and don't need them to be searchable, you can add them under the Privacy tab of the Spotlight system preferences to cut down on unneeded activity.
     
  6. macincar thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    #7
    It's a Soapsky theme, check out on macthemes.net:p
     
  7. dusanv macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #8
    Theoretically, it should catch all file modifications on the fly and update its database. It shouldn't scan all that much. My copy was doing the same thing until I prevented it from scanning the Windows partition ('cause it kept doing that). Now you can't hear a peep out of it. Spotlight is still very rough around the edges...
     
  8. tyr2 macrumors 6502a

    tyr2

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #9
    I had that problem once, it seemed to scan the disk constantly for no real reason.

    I added all my disks into the 'exclude' list in the spotlight preferences, then removed them again. It scanned once after I removed them from the exclude list and I've never had a problem since.
     
  9. dllavaneras macrumors 68000

    dllavaneras

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    #10
    Hmm, that has nevered bothered me before... I don't have a busy volume though.

    And it's the first time I opened Activity Monitor :) F@h is great! When the computer is idle it eats the cpu. When I'm using it, it goes down to 2% :D
     

Share This Page