Media wiki Side bars

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by trainguy77, Apr 19, 2006.

  1. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #1
    I am trying to get a mediawiki going(same as our guides) So I got things working but I got a couple problems. When I go to change the side bar at: http://guides.macrumors.com/index.php?title=MediaWiki:Sidebar(except my site) I go into edit. But then at the top it says the page is locked. Yet I am in the first admin account. I should have the rights to change this page. But it will not let me. When I go to edit it sends me back to the normal page. Any ideas? Is there something I need to do in localsettings.php? How do you change the toolbox?

    As a side note. Can I integrate mediawiki with AD? I have not looked into it.
     
  2. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #2
    I've never run into a locked page - but it sounds like the database thinks someone else is already editing. Possibly a failed session by you? It might be necessary to go into MySQL Account Maintenance on your web server and take a look at what tools are at your disposal. I just ran a check on my database at daniel.cook.name and it has info about locks included with everything else. Might be interesting to see if it shows any on yours. Maybe a repair would be in order. Sorry I couldn't be of more assistance - just thinking and typing at the same time here :eek:
     
  3. trainguy77 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #3
    I looked into that the only open connection is root which is what I am logged into. The user the wiki uses pops up when I use mediawiki.
     
  4. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #4
    Ok, I just edited my Sidebar and got the Lock message as well. But it still let me make my edit and save the page. Is this the error message you're referring to?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. trainguy77 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #5
    No I got this. I unprotected it to see if that would help it did not.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #6
    If you clicked the Unprotect tab and that didn't work I am at a loss. You must have inadvertantly protected the page, somehow. That's the only way I can see that you can do it. I found info about the subject here.
     
  7. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #7
    Another thought... When you check out the user list under special pages, does it have "(Bureaucrat, sysop)" next to the user that you're logged into when you attempt the changes?
     
  8. trainguy77 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #8
    Yes, I will try re-building the mediawiki. I will delete the database, and the files and start over as I have not done much. Just learning how to use it before its in production.

    EDIT: I figured it out! I removed this from my local config file:
    $wgGroupPermissions['*']['edit'] = false;
    $wgGroupPermissions['user']['edit'] = false;
    $wgGroupPermissions['user2']['edit'] = true;

    I must be part of user. I was trying to get it so you have to be part of user2 to edit.
     
  9. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #9
    Good luck with your Wiki :D
     

Share This Page