Memory for Macbook

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Buschmaster, Jul 8, 2006.

  1. Buschmaster macrumors 65816

    Buschmaster

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #1
    Would any of this memory work in a Macbook? I've got a 1.83 sitting here with only 512, and I want to get to 2GBs, or at least 1GB. Suggestions? I want it to be cost effective, but I don't want to buy something that will really suck. So the least I can spend and still get a good product.:cool:
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    I'm not a fan of NewEgg...I've heard lots of bad things about their customer service and honesty. I would recommend either OWC or DMS...excellent customer service, very good quality backed up by great return/replacement policies, Mac-knowledgeable, and good prices. They both have online wizards to guide you to the appropriate RAM for your machine.
     
  3. iMacFan78 macrumors regular

    iMacFan78

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    MS
    #3
    That's the kind of memory you'll need for your MacBook [667MHz DDR2 SDRAM (PC2 5300)]. I saw this memory and almost all of the reviews by MacBook owners were good ones. That's also an excellent price.

    EDIT: I have heard that NewEgg has excellent coustomer service and a good return policy.
     
  4. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    Keep in mind; because the MacBook uses shared graphics memory, it is highly recommended that you add RAM in matched pairs.
     
  5. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #5
    As long as the SO-DIMMS are 200p DDR2 PC2-5300 they should work in a MacBook, but since Macs are notoriously picky on RAM there's no guarantees (well, some suppliers will actually guarantee it, often at a price premium).

    I myself got and installed TwinMOS RAM in two MacBooks, and have earlier used standard Kingston RAM (which is mentioned on the page you linked to) in a Mac without any issues (that is one of the modules was DOA, but was quickly replaced under warranty, of course).

    If you can return them, free of charge or for a small restocking fee, in the event that they shouldn't work, I'd say go for it! :)
     
  6. Buschmaster thread starter macrumors 65816

    Buschmaster

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #6
    Thanks for the tip. I'll be sure to shop around :)


    So basically dropping two of these in will really help me out? I don't know why it wouldn't but... if I put one of these in and had 1.25GB of ram, would the 2GB of ram be way better because of the pairing? Would this ram pair up well?
     
  7. Buschmaster thread starter macrumors 65816

    Buschmaster

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #7
    Is that why they stock them with 2x256 as opposed to 1x512? Never would've thought of that.

    Any word on if Macs are less picky if they're Intel? Would be interesting to see. :) So no complaints of either ram? How long have you had them? Did it give the Macbooks a noticable boost?
     
  8. spriter macrumors 65816

    spriter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    #8
    I've been using 2 x 1GB Transcend sticks since I got my Macbook and it works fine - it had guaranteed compatibility from the reseller. Cost me £150 over here which isn't bad for UK prices and alot better than the near £200 for Crucial stuff.
     
  9. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #9
    I've used generic 3rd party RAM in my Pismo(s) from 2000, iBook G4 from 2003 and now in my MacBook.

    Both the Pismos have died (screen on one and power/logic board on the other) and when I got the MacBook I removed the 512MB module from my old iBook and put it into my girlfriend's (much newer) iBook G4.

    I know TwinMOS has (at least three years warranty, but other suppliers have longer, all the way up to lifetime guarantee).

    I didn't actually test the MacBook before replacing the stock 512MB, but with 2 x 1GB it's virtually flying. :cool:

    I recommend you get 2 x 1GB, but if that's more than you can afford, get one 1GB module now and another one whenever you can afford it. You will get a boost from a matched pair, that is true, but 1GB + 256MB will, in most cases, outperform 512MB + 512MB. Also, if you get 512 + 512 you must get rid of them again if you want to upgrade later, if you get 1GB now and discard one of the 256MB modules, then you can get another one later and just discard the other 256MB module at that point. Much more cost efficient... :)
     
  10. Buschmaster thread starter macrumors 65816

    Buschmaster

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #10
    I think I'll just get both 1GB sticks right now, it seems like then I'll realllllly feel the difference ;) It's looking like I'll buy the GSkill from newegg... I had a friend use Newegg to buy an entire computer he bought a few wrong things and even when opened they returned them for the right ones... Pretty nice, he just had to pay shipping and a small restocking and it was all the same. So that sounded like a good plan. I'll probably order a couple of those tonight and hopefully pop those in sometime next week!
     
  11. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #11
    FWIW, you might want to have a look at this thread. I haven't looked at closely today, but I recall some people there having problems with G.Skill.
     
  12. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #12
    Yup, that's why. :)
     
  13. vegito753 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    #13
    PC2-4200 DOES work in my macbook

    Just in case anyone was wondering, I installed 2 512M sticks of PC2-4200 ram in my macbook and have no problems whatsoever. Obviously the ram runs @ 400 Mhz, but it detects fine and the macbook now boots in 12 seconds flat... I'm loving it.
     
  14. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
  15. alec macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #15
    Patriot RAM is good, I haven't seen any complaints about it. I've used GSKILL RAM on my MacBook from New Egg and it's been great! (I've ordered numerous times from New Egg, by the way, and have never had problems)
     
  16. peeInMyPantz macrumors member

    peeInMyPantz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    #16
    Hi,
    is this the type of RAM to use for macbook?
    http://sg.hardwarezone.com/priceguide/priceguide.php?id=319

    I've never owned a laptop before, just desktop all the way. Never heard of Patriot.
    There are 4 brands listed on the page (Kingston, Corsair, Patriot, and Geil).
    Which one is the most suitable for macbook?

    also will i void my warranty if i change the RAM?

    Thanx
     
  17. Buschmaster thread starter macrumors 65816

    Buschmaster

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #17
    I just purchased my 2GB of G.Skill. Hopefully I'll have it by the end of the week, if not, early next week. I'll let you guys know how the installing goes as well as any initial problems or significant stuff.
     
  18. CNU182 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #18
    I just bought a 1Gb stick to accompany a stock 256 due to limited funds. install will go down tonight.
     
  19. CNU182 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
  20. peeInMyPantz macrumors member

    peeInMyPantz

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    #20
    hi can someone take a look at the link to see whether those RAM are compatible? I am not sure whether those are desktop RAM.

    i checkout "mac guides: buying RAM" in this forum,
    http://guides.macrumors.com/Buying_RAM
    this is what it says:
    does this mean that i'll void the warranty if i change the RAM, since "For all other computers the Apple-provided RAM must stay with the computer until AppleCare expires."
     
  21. CNU182 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #21
    here's a good resource for compatible ram and other mods..

    http://www.wiredbynature.org/comp/mac/macbook/mods.php#Ram
     
  22. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #22
    That all looks like desktop RAM to me. There's a link on the right-hand side of the page for "Notebook: SO-DIMM" RAM, but that page contains multiple kinds of notebook RAM. Basically, that site is terrible.

    No, but you should keep the Apple-branded RAM you take out of your computer. If you ever have a problem with the computer, Apple will likely first try to blame the RAM, so you'll have to take out your third-party RAM and put the original Apple RAM back in to both prove the problem and for sending in for servicing. The Apple RAM just has to stay with the computer, not necessarily in the computer.
     
  23. kensteele macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    #23
    This is true. Happened to me, so I sent back my computer with the Apple RAM in it. Will let you know if I have any problems.
     
  24. munkees macrumors 65816

    munkees

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #25
    DMS these guys are good priced and know apple, great customer service for DOA, used them in 3 systems now very happy
     

Share This Page