Memory for PPC G5 2.3DC

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by plodkiller, Sep 28, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    #1
    I am in the process of possibly buying a G5 2.3 dual core machine. I was wondering if I took a couple of memory modules from my PC, DDR2 800, would they work in the G5?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    reddrag0n

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    It will clock down to 533MHz, but you will want to buy 533MHz RAM.
    otherwise it may get temperamental and may cause kernel panics.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    891
    #3
    too high RAM can potentially cause kernal panics? I thought the motherboard would monitor this but I guess that too can make sense.

    I'll keep that in mind during troubleshooting.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,929
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #4
    Mixed memory RAM speeds can cause KP not too high RAM capacity. They should be installed in pairs on a DC PowerMac.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    MacSince1990

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,346
    #5
    It should be fine. Just don't mix and match different pairs... obviously they need to be installed in pairs for dual-channel operation (doesn't operate in single channel..) but it might not work even mixing groups of two different speeds.

    You might want to consider a Quad G5, by the way. Basically twice the power, and not much more money these days.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    #6
    Well I bit the bullet I have bought a 2.3 dual core......I know a quad core would have been not much more but did not a liquid cooled machine. I will try the PC memory in it and will be sure the match the pairs on installation.....it will give me a total of 4 gb which should be enough...

    Thx for the replies
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,929
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #7
    Take note matching pairs from center slot towards the outer slots...
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    #8
    Well the powermac arrived with tiger installed....booted up really quick and seems to run nicely hooked up to my 1680x1050 monitor. I put in the memory chips from my pc and it recognized them right away with no problem...

    One thing I did notice that wasn't in the auction though...it has the airport and bluetooth module fitted bit of a bonus....
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,929
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #9
    Good for you, that is around 90usd bonus.
     

Share This Page