Memory Importance / Performance

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by jbusse, Nov 11, 2004.

  1. jbusse macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    #1
    I have a newish powerbook g4 15, I got it with 512mb memory and it performs ok, a little sluggish.... the 512mb is comprised of two 256mb simms...

    Should I upgrade? What kind of impact should I expect from more memory?

    Can I get a 1gig sim and end up with 1256mb machine? If so, where would be the most reliable and cost effective place to purchase this? Any tips on making sure I get the right thing?

    Thanks
    Jim
     
  2. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #2
    1GB + 256MB = 1280MB ;)

    And yes, adding 1GB of RAM will help your performance quite a bit.
     
  3. jbusse thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    #3
    on some systems you have to have both simms be the same size, if thats not the case here, Im ordering tonight from Crucial~ pls just tell me I can match a 1gig and a 256mb and it will work... thx
     
  4. Steven1621 macrumors 6502a

    Steven1621

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #4
    i would say to just buy 2 - 512 dimms. a GB is more than enough, i would say. and it would be cheaper than the 1 GB dimm and i don't think you will see that much of a difference in performance.
     
  5. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #5
    I have a 1GB and a 256MB dimm in my PB and it works beautifully so no problems there. Until I found the cheap 1GB stick, I had figured to buy 2 512 DIMMS since the price was better and I didn't think I'd ever put the whole 2GB into the PB.
     
  6. JFreak macrumors 68040

    JFreak

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    Tampere, Finland
    #6
    EVER ?????

    how many people thought they'd never see a laptop having 1GB memory when the titanium powerbooks were introduced? it only took two years and it became standard (meaning: nothing to brag about) ram configuration among multimedia creators.
     
  7. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #7
    Not never, but probably not in this PB. I think the cost of another 1GB DIMM would be better put towards a rev B G5 PB in a year or so
     
  8. TLRedhawke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    #8
    Since no one answered the question, no you don't have to match the ram. Only in the Powermac G5 (in terms of current models anyway) do you have to match ram. Slight correction as well, the ram is in DIMMs, not SIMMs.
     
  9. asmith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    #9
  10. asmith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    #10
    BTW adding another 1GB of ram is not going to help your powerbook performance unless you are doing multimedia/photoshop stuff.

    However, going from 512MB to 768MB will help your performance. And chances are the FSB will have changed by the time you buy a new laptop so you'll be buying memory all over again.
     
  11. jbusse thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    #11
    The last post where someone says adding 1gig of ram will not help unless Im doing MM is kind of depressing... with 512mb I'm finding it sluggish.

    I decided to get 1gig stick and add it in with a 256mb stick .... I'm really hoping I see the wait wheel less and hear the drive grind less.

    Thanks for all the excellent feedback.
     

Share This Page