Memory leaks

Discussion in 'iPhone/iPad Programming' started by cjlesh, Jan 18, 2009.

1. macrumors newbie

I'm still very new to memory management in general, having only programmed in languages where it wasn't really a consideration.

As I was working through an example in the Apress "Beginning Iphone Development" book, I ran into something I can't understand, and I'm hoping someone here can point me in the right direction.

In Chapter 6, page 126, there is the following code:

Code:
    @synthesize blueViewController;
     - (void)viewDidLoad {
           BlueViewController *blueController = [[BlueViewController alloc] initWithNibName:@"BlueView" bundle:nil];
           self.blueViewController = [[BlueViewController alloc] initWithNibName:@"BlueView" bundle:nil];
           [self.view insertSubview:blueController.view atIndex:0];
           [blueController release];
     }
    OK, I don't want to reproduce the entire project's code here, but in the header file there is:

Code:
    @property (retain, nonatomic) BlueViewController *blueViewController;
    and in the dealloc method:

Code:
    [blueViewController release];
    So, I was wondering why I can't do this instead:

Code:
    - (void)viewDidLoad {
           self.blueViewController = [[BlueViewController alloc] initWithNibName:@"BlueView" bundle:nil];
           [self.view insertSubview:blueViewController.view atIndex:0];
    }
    I asked this question on the book's forum, and was told that my code will result in a memory leak, because alloc increased the ref count by 1, and assignment increases the ref count by 1, and I release blueViewController later, but that leaves a ref unreleased.

So, that makes sense to me, except when I run my code through 'Leaks', I'm not finding any.

Which leads me to my questions:
    1. Why am I not seeing any leaks with my code?
    2. Do I really have to create then release a temp variable every time I want to create an object that is assigned to an instance variable?