Memory Upgrade for MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by samb, Oct 19, 2006.

  1. samb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    #1
    have 512mb in my macbok pro at the moment.

    was going to get another 1gb memory upgrade.

    but i have just read this "you should install in identical pairs (preferably in kits) for optimal performance"

    is it ok to install 1gb in one slot and leave 512mb in other, or will it cause problems????
     
  2. prostuff1 macrumors 65816

    prostuff1

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Location:
    Don't step into the kawoosh...
    #2
    It should not cause any problems. The reason apple says in pairs is because the ram can run in dual channel. The difference between matched and unmatched will be so little you will probably not even notice.
     
  3. RainForRent macrumors 6502

    RainForRent

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    #3
    The best thing to do is to put the 1 GB stick in the first (bottom) slot.
    When the computer reads memory,
    think of it as a water jug-
    you want the biggest one to fill up first since it has more room,
    then any overflow is for the smaller one.
    When that overflow occurs is when performance suffers a minute amount,
    so having the larger stick used first reduces that.

    At least,
    that is the way that I had it explained to me years back. :)

    Hope it helps.
    I have this same setup in my MBP.
     
  4. PowerMike G5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #4
    1.5GB will run fine in your MBP. But yes, you will need to identical-sized RAM sticks for your notebook to run in dual channel mode.
     
  5. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #5
    Keep in mind that it's more than just size that matters...all specs must be identical, even the specs you can't find anywhere. Which is why it's best to buy two sticks at the same time or a two-piece kit.

    That said, the MBP doesn't see all that much of a speed benefit by running matched RAM...it's much more important for machines with integrated graphics like the MB and the mini.
     
  6. dwd3885 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    #6
    so how much will a jump to 1.5 gigs improve system performance on a Macbook Pro that has 512mb Ram? I'm considering doing the same thing. (just buying a gig to equal 1.5)
     
  7. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #7
    You'll likely see a pretty significant boost in performance. It depends on what applications you use and how many at one time (and in what combination and what you do with them), but unless you only use it for web browsing and iTunes, you'll see a good bump.
     
  8. Chubtoad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    #8
  9. TaylorB macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    #9
    So you can use different size sticks, and you will not be able to take advantage of "dual channeling." But from that last post, it doesn't seem like that does much anyways. I just want this to be answered.. Is it safe for you to add on a 1GB RAM stick to your 512mb (512 is already installed, from apple.) I just need to put the 1GB stick below the 512mb?
     
  10. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #10
    You can absolutely add a 1 GB stick to the existing 512 MB stick. I don't think it really matters which one goes in which slot.
     
  11. TaylorB macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
  12. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #12
    Correct- the computer doesn't differentiate between which slot is "up" and which is "down."

    Dual channeling does have it's advantages, but in your case you are tripling your memory capacity. The speed boost you'll get from increasing the amount of RAM is much greater than that you'll get if you were to dual channel.
     
  13. TaylorB macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    #13
    Now i'm confused again. I was just told that 512 mb is built in and MacBook Pro users have two extra EMPTY slots. Since I don't have the right tools to open mine up, would someone midn to tell me if the standard 512 mb is in one of the two slots, or is the 512 mb already built into the computer? Someone please help! Thank you so much! :)
     
  14. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #14
    MacBook Pros have two user-accessible RAM slots...that's it. The entry-level model has a single stick of 512 MB in one slot, while the second slot is empty.
     
  15. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #15
    You don't need tools - go to the Apple menu and select System Profiler. Under "Memory" it will tell you what is installed in each socket.


    (BTW You was told wrong. Don't take any horseracing tips from that source, either)
     
  16. TaylorB macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    #16
    Okay, awesome. Thank both of you guys. (sorry, I'm still new to Macs, but I help when I know whats going on!) Thanks again. :)
     
  17. tjcampbell macrumors 6502a

    tjcampbell

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #17
    Cool thanks. Just ordered a 1GB stick for my MBP too. :)
     
  18. meepm00pmeep macrumors 6502

    meepm00pmeep

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto
    #18
    i'm waiting for RAM prices to go down before i guy a 1GB stick for my MBP
     
  19. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #19
    Some suppliers are hinting to me that there will be an adjustment of some kind on Monday, we'll see if it comes true

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     

Share This Page