Memory upgrade to a PB 12" 1.33Ghz

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by arnette, Nov 17, 2006.

  1. arnette macrumors 6502

    arnette

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Location:
    Manhattan Beach
    #1
    Hey-ya,

    I have a 12" PowerBook 1.33Ghz that currently has 768MB of RAM. I'm thinking of replacing my 512 stick with a 1GB stick for a total of 1.25GB of RAM.

    Now my question is: would it be worth the expense? I'm really looking for performance increase in MS Office (particularly Word) and maybe other apps like iTunes, Firefox, but not much else. A full system upgrade is a ways away for me but thought this might be a nice stop-gap. Word in particular really bogs down when I have a large file open to work on.

    Any comments or suggestions? Thanks!
     
  2. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #2
    Depends on how long before you upgrade. It'll cost a $200 or so (I think, this week anyway). You get a little back when you sell it, but mostly it will help make the sale. If you venture into video or even audio editing, higher res still cam - you will benefit from the extra RAM.

    I did a the same swap on my PBG4 1.67 17", which got me from 1.5GB to 2GB. I think it was this last spring. At that time, I thought I was probably going to go the Intel (MacBookPro), when I heard of the Core 2 in the "near future". I think between what part it played in selling the machine and the use I got running at 2GB, the $200 or so was worth it. IMHO anyway.
     
  3. Passante macrumors 6502a

    Passante

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Location:
    on the sofa
    #3
    Restart your powerbook and use it for a few hours. Then open activity monitor and look at the number of page outs in the memory tab. If that number is high then you need more memory. 768 MB of RAM was fine until I started to install widgets. They all use some of your RAM.

    A gig stick from Other World Computing http://eshop.macsales.com will set you back $140.

    Note that this may not improve the performance of Word.

    Also if keep an eye on your hard drive if its the 80 gig size. They have a high failure rate.
     
  4. usvi4me macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Trinidad, West Indies - soon St. Thomas USVI
    #4
    Why not leave the 512 stick in and take out the 256k chip ? This way you will have a meg and a half.
     
  5. davidjearly macrumors 68020

    davidjearly

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #5
    After reading through the post, I was wondering why no one had suggested this!

    To the OP - Is there something wrong with your 512MB stick?

    David
     
  6. arnette thread starter macrumors 6502

    arnette

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Location:
    Manhattan Beach
    #6
    My Powerbook has only one user-accessable RAM slot. It now has 512MB stick in there. I believe the built-in RAM slot is 256MB soldered in. You're probably thinking of a 15" PowerBook.

    I'm running OS 10.3.9 so Widgets aren't really a thing for me. I'm holding out for Leopard before i even think of upgrading. Besides, my system runs great for what I need it for... with the performance exception of Word.

    I'm going to give activity monitor a look-see tonight when I get home and perhaps it will give me some indication of whether or not a RAM upgrade would be worth it. Resale value, maybe. But I'm more interested in the performance increase.

    Oh, and I have had issues with my HD in the past. AppleCare took care of that and gave me a new motherboard as well.

    Thanks
     
  7. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #7
    upgrading your RAM will not directly improve performance in Word, i suppose that what you have now is more than enough for that, but it'll help if you're using Word and have many other apps open at the same time :D
     
  8. arnette thread starter macrumors 6502

    arnette

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Location:
    Manhattan Beach
    #8
    ah! Exactly what I was confused about. Good answer. Makes sense. Damn you Microsoft! Write better code!
     
  9. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #9
    if they could, i suppose we'd know by now ... :D
     

Share This Page