Memory Upgrade?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by southpaw17, Mar 22, 2007.

1. southpaw17 macrumors member

I just bought a refurbed macbook pro 15. 1.83 ghz and has 512 mb ram intel dual core. It looks brand new and I bought it from apple for $1299 so it is really too good of a deal to pass up since the ram is easily upgraded. My questions are, can I upgrade the processor speed or is it not worth it? As far as the ram goes, can I upgrade to the intel dual core 2. I want at least 1 gb of ram, but will I get a noticeable difference with 2 gb? I am only a student, but like to run a lot of programs at once. What is the best way for me to upgrade my ram? Just buy another 512 chip, buy a 1 gb chip (will it work as 1.5 gb?), or just go for the whole shot and buy a 2 gb set? And will it be better to upgrade to the intel dual core 2? Also where is the place to get the best prices on these? Thanks for your help, I am new to Macs but hope to learn more about them as time goes on.

2. epochblue macrumors 68000

epochblue

Since it's a laptop, you won't be able to upgrade the processor without massively voiding your warranty (and probably breaking the computer). I wouldn't recommend it.

As for the RAM, you'll have to buy in pairs: 2x256MB, 2x512MB, or 2x1GB. This has to do with the fact that your processor is dual core (it's a long story, just trust me).

Depending on how demanding the apps you want to run are will depend on how much RAM you'll need. I run numerous programs at once and get by just fine with 1GB, but if I need to run a "heavy" app like Photoshop, I tend to pare down what else is running. So, if you're only running Word, Safari, and iChat, 1GB will be fine. If you're trying to run Photoshop + iMovie + Safari + iChat + whatever else, you'll probably want 2GB. Beyond that, if you intend to run Parallels or VMWare at all, you'll likely want 2GB as well, as things will just run smoother.