memory?

Discussion in 'Product Recommendations/Reviews' started by boxerchip, Sep 9, 2004.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    VA
    #1
    I was looking at getting an extra 2 GB of ram for my G5, i was loooking at the differeent brands of ram and everything and found this.


    http://www.newegg.com/app/viewprodu...-146-992&CMP=OTC-pr1c3watch&ATT=System+Memory


    Ive never really heard of the brand or anything but im guessing it would be better for my G5 seing as its made for G5s.

    anyone have any reccomendations or anything about this ram or other really good ram?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    iSaint

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5,228
    Location:
    South Mississippi y'all, near the water!
    #2
    Most people I know, and most on this forum would recommend Crucial I ordered a 512 stick for my iBook from Kahlon but sent it back the other day because it was only reading 256k of the total memory. Who knows what the problem is, or was, or if the replacement stick will work. If not, I'm going to Crucial.
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    VA
    #3
    thats what ive seen... but ive always been a HUGE fan of corsair.... Just thiking of lateny times and all what is the best performance becuase i know corsair ram has better times than a mac can even do.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    FuzzyBallz

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    978
    Location:
    Home of Al-Qaida
    #4
    Crucial.com has been raising the price of their G5 spec RAM dramatically for the past week. If you need to get some Crucial RAM, get it from newegg.com, they're still cheap. Same spec as ones from Crucial.com.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Elan0204

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,087
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    This (from newegg.com) is the correct memory for all models of the iMac G5, right?
     
  6. macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    4,134
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    #6
    as long as the website says its for a certain model and its printed ont he invoice then if they send you a wrong stick you can send it back and get it replaced no problem at all
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Elan0204

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,087
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #7
    The memory linked to in my post doesn't list any computers it is compatible with. I think it is RAM that works in all the iMac G5s, but if someone can confirm that for me, that would be great.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    FuzzyBallz

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    978
    Location:
    Home of Al-Qaida
    #8
    Newegg.com's Crucial PC3200 CAS 3, 256MB and 512MB, sticks are single sided and are identical to what's in the G5. The G5 Dual 2.0G I bought yesterday has 2 sticks of Crucial/Micron, but w/o the Crucial sticker.

    G5 PM and G5 iMac use the same memory.
     
  9. macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    26,934
    #9
    So based on what you say, if I get the iMac with 1-512MB stick from Apple and add the stick you reference above, I'll get a 128 bit memory bus as reference in this thread?

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=1029654#post1029654
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    #10
    Yup.

    But, if you want to take it one step further, I don't think we yet know what the CAS latency is on the stock Apple RAM for the iMacs. Best guesses are CL-3. People surmise that even if latency is mismatched, but size is matched, that you will still get a dual memory bus. But we might need to wait and see.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    VA
    #11
    ok so im thinking 2 gigs of crucial balstix (512x4) this seems to be the best idea at the time from what you all are saying.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    continuum

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Beautiful Lake Tahoe
    #12
    I recently bought a 1 gig upgrade for my G5 from Crucial. No problems and the price was fair.
     
  13. macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    8,829
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #13
    I would add that OWC has good products (equal by some os us to Crucial) and in some cases better pricing.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    FuzzyBallz

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    978
    Location:
    Home of Al-Qaida
    #14
    I know some people don't care what kinda memory they buy as long as it work. But here's the thing, G5 uses Crucial memory. You can either go w/ Crucial.com @ 512MB for $99, or w/ Newegg.com @ 512MB for $86 for the exact RAM. I repeat, identical. Both offer free FedEx Air shipping. I bought a pair of 512MB from Newegg.com.

    Never heard of OWC (aka, MacSales.com), who sells generic brand "G5 compatible" 512MB RAM for $90. Free shipping is done by UPS Ground if your order is $149 and up. But they also have a very interesting catch. "Get UPS 2nd Day for $5 or less on any order less than 10 lbs." I wonder why they need 2 names for one company?

    @rdowns
    Yes, it'lll work. It's pretty obvious the G5 iMac is using the same kind of memory as G5 PM, so if the memory works for a PM, it'll work for the iMac.
     
  15. macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    8,829
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #15
    All I can say is that OWC got me the same Samsung memory as Apple for my PB 12" for less than Crucial.

    I point out OWC because there are many of us that have been happy with OWC and their prices and support. Also there are those of us that have been burnt by Micron. Also depending on the browser (other threads here recently), the prices vary according the browser you go through with Crucial.

    For that reason if OWC were to leave tomorrow, I would rather take my chances with other third party RAM.
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    NORTH America
    #16
    iMac G5 and RAM

    From MacBidouille today:

    The iMacG5 has 2 memory slots. But contrary to the PMG5, it is possible to install 1 or 2 DDR modules of different size. But in this case, the memory bus will be working only in 64 bits mode. Only if both DDR modules are identical, that it will work as 128 bits mode. In other words, performance of your iMacG5 will be dramatically impacted if you do not install 2 identical DDR modules.
    Warning, identical DDR modules imply both same size (i.e. 256, 512 1024 MB) and same specs (i.e. latency).
     

Share This Page