Menu bar in Snow Leopard

Discussion in 'OS X' started by dukebound85, Aug 27, 2009.

  1. macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #1
    It doesnt work

    what gives? I got my copy today and yea, i did the upgrade and menue bar doesnt really work

    ideas?
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
  3. thread starter macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #3
    no avail

    culprit is istat menues

    not compatible with 10.6
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    MI
    #4
    Oh thank God! I was scared that Apple hadn't gotten the Menu Bar, of all things, to work. :p
     
  5. macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #5
    The devs said they would release the updated version tomorrow I think.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Pickleman77

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #6
    Yeah, I've got the SL beta for it and it works great. It should release pretty soon.
     
  7. macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #7
    Link or it didnt happen.
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #8
    The joys of receiving SL a week after release.

    I'll let you guys have all the software comparability problems ;)
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    We've asked our beta testers very nicely not to spread the beta.

    The full iStat Menus 2.0 release will happen very soon.
     
  10. macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #10
    Yes, because they'll all be fixed in a week. :rolleyes:
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #11
    This problem is not a bug in Snow Leopard, it is a result of developers using unsupported APIs!!!

    Apple provides an API for displaying things in the menu bar and used another one internally for it icons on the right (the ones you can drag with Command held down)... but it was an _internal_ API so they were well within their rights to change it for snow leopard. All the icons which still work are the ones using the correct API.

    The reason why people used the internal API was so that you could rearrange your icons, but now all those apps are basically broken on Snow Leopard. If they are unsupported then the people who use them will have to abandon them. :/

    Solution 1: Apple should let people rearrange the icons on the left of the system icons. They are basically arranged by whichever app calls the system bar registration first... usually the order they are loaded at startup, but not _always_ :(

    Solution 2: Developers shouldn't use unsupported APIs. I don't want the same f'n trouble with the next upgrade.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #12
    Note: A very quick fix for this.

    Code:
    - Download iStat menus from islayer.com/apps/istatmenus/.
    - Double click the ZIP file to open it.
    - Control-click or right-click iStat menus Installer and choose Show Package Contents.
    - Navigate to Contents/Resources/.
    - Double click iStat menus Uninstaller to run the uninstaller.
    
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    #13
    I had the same problem I posted it about an hour ago. Something happened during my uninstall of istat pro and my menu bar totally disappeared, and finder would not start. I am in the middle of restoring 10.5.8 from a time machine backup. I am going to uninstall everything that is incompatible with SL and see if it fixes the problem.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    #14
    I have restored back to 10.5.8, deleted all the uncompatible programs,and repaired permissions. Then reinstalled 10.6 and I am still missing my menu bar, but this time when I tried to repair permissions after the SL install it said that SUID file "System/Library/Coreservices/RemoteManagement/ARDAgent.app/Contents/MacOS/ARDAgent" was changed and would not be repaired. This is getting really irritating, I just want to use this new freaken OS.

    Fixed it? So far some of the icons have returned to my menu bar by doing this:

    Trash the file com.apple.systemuiserver.plist
    found in ~/Library/Preferences.

    Then Restart the machine and I finally got my spotlight icon back.

    Lesson Learned: Buy a bigger backup drive so you can back up your downloads too. Time to redownload some items that I did not backup because my TimeMachine drive did not have enough space.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Location:
    Florence, Italy
    #15
    It worked!!! Thank you!
    I got my menu bar back.
     

Share This Page