Menu Bar Mania!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by GimmeSlack12, Aug 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #1
    So I decided to see how clotted and congested I could get my Menu Bar. Anyone dare try and out Menu Bar me?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Rapmastac1 macrumors 65816

    Rapmastac1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Location:
    In the Depths of the SLC!
    #4
    Speaking of Menubar, are there any ways to "hide" it, or make it automatically hide like in Windows XP? I know that you can customise it with themes (btw, what are your fave themes, I am just starting out, and don't know what to get, post links here to if possible).
     
  3. GimmeSlack12 thread starter macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #5
    No you cannot hide the menu bar. What's the bother it only takes about 1/60th of the screen.
     
  4. Benjamin macrumors 6502a

    Benjamin

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    try it out, idk how well it works.

    http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/22217
     
  5. After G macrumors 68000

    After G

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #7
    There is an API method to hide the menu bar, but it's generally discouraged in OS X as it is bad UI. After reading the menufela comments, I see why.
     
  6. shrimpdesign macrumors 6502a

    shrimpdesign

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    #8
    I tried menufela .. I think it would be handy.. there are times when I wouldn't mind hiding the menu, but menufela hides the dock too ... which sucks.
     
  7. elbirth macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Location:
    North Carolina, US
    #9
    Could you guys identify the icons in your menu bars? I like looking at what other people have so I can see if there are things I'm missing out on... and I don't always recognize the apps, especially for apps I don't have myself!

    Here's my mine:
    [​IMG]
    From right to left:
    Spotlight
    Fast User Switching
    Clock
    Battery Meter
    Volume
    Airport
    Bluetooth (keyboard attached)
    Display Prefs
    Gmail Notifier
    Textpander
    SMARTReporter
    Quicksilver
    Adium
     
  8. GimmeSlack12 thread starter macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #10
    How did you change your Spotlight icon? Change it in the package contents of something?
     
  9. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page