[Merged] iPad WiFi connection issues

Discussion in 'iPad' started by cmbarclay, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #1
    My Wifi connection is weak 1 to 2 Bars even when I am setting next to my airport. When I move away my connection Drops.

    Anyone have any suggestions?

    Chris
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    #2
    I'm not having any problems with mine. I have full strength just like on my MacBook Pro.

    Have tried a full restore? Perhaps your iPad is defective.

    Sorry I can't be of help.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #3
    Only thing to suggest is turning Wifi off then back on in the settings. I have no issues with full 5Ghz N signal anywhere in my house or out on the patio. It's very fast and solid signal. Using the AIrport Xtreme as router. If it seems to be an issue I'd swap it out for a new one.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    Thank you for your feedback.

    I just got off the phone with Apple and they walked me through a Hard Reset and now I have all bars.

    I was worried but now it's fine.

    Chris
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Aduntu

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    #5
    Did you just hold down the home and sleep button until it reset, or did they give you other instructions?
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    #6
    I am still having the same issue. Extremely weak signal.

    for eg. using speedtest.net app on the iPhone gives me close to 15mbits/sec but with iPad I get 1.7 mbits/sec. Huge difference. I feel the difference while surfing the websites. My Macbook with N is extremely fast and so is my iPhone. I have N router. I did a restore to default factry settings through iTunes on advise on the phone from Apple tech support guys but still no use.


    I would like to know if anyone tried connecting another wifi network like Barnes and Noble or Borders and check if the issue still exists.
    Let me know.

    I might return mine tomorrow. Looks like a some sort of bug (hardware or Software).
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #7
    Same problem here. Connection sucks. How did you do the hard reset on the Ipad?
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    #8



    Ok i made my router into "G only mode" and now the speed is amazing. I get 20 mbits/sec compared to 1.5 mbits that i was getting in the morning. Hope this helps atleast for a while. I have router wrt160N linksys.

    * * *
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #9
    I'm noticing something similar lots of single bar signals when there shouldn't be. Both on G or N or 2.4 or 5 ghz.

    The signal seems to be constantly changing.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    OGDaniel

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Location:
    Arizona
    #10
    My brother and dad both have gotten iPads and I had my hands on them for a couple hours total and I must say I am incredibly satisfied with how it interacts with the internet. The wifi connection and speed was great for me, if that helps at all.
     
  11. ugp
    macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #11
    I thought I had this issue at first but them played around with some settings. I am using a WRT610N and seems to be good now. Gets the same signal as my iPhone does. Max speed I have been able to get out of a speedtest is close to 10Mbits. I am on a 40Mbit connection.
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    abijnk

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #12
    Mine has done that a few times and just going into settings and toggling wifi off and then back on has fixed it. Just for future reference...
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    pvmacguy

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Location:
    Jax
    #13
    Mine is also a little cooky, it shows only 1 bar of signal but it runs at like 13mbps according to speediest.net. So I don't really think mine has an issue buy the icon reding the wrong information.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #14
    Isn't a hard reset just holding the sleep/wake button and home button till the apple logo appears?
     
  15. macrumors member

    JimmyTheKnife

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #15
    Yes.
     
  16. macrumors regular

    thrill5one6

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    #16
    I would also like to know how to do a hard reset
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #17
    I noticed that on mine as well. It's not terrible but Ive noticed less bars than my iPhone gets from my airport in the same areas of my house. It still runs smoothly though.
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #18
    Still having issues after the hard reset so I'm doing a restore thru iTunes now so see if that fixes it. Just a side not the restore file was 457MB isn't that double the size of the iPhone restore?
     
  19. ugp
    macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #19
    Yeah that's pretty big. Around double or so. Who knows from me I'm drunk right now. And typing on my iPad. Typing is easy even while drunk.
     
  20. macrumors member

    AWalkerStudios

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #20
    Trouble connecting to University Wifi

    Hey guys, got a 32GB iPad while home from school this past weekend and I've been loving every minute of it. Now I'm back on campus (UT Austin) and I can't seem to connect to either the public guest network or the restricted student network, both of which work perfectly well on the iPod Touch. Normally the procedure is to go to Safari, and a window will pop saying connecting. Shortly after a login screen will come up and a button prompting me to setup the restricted network will come up. The page auto-detects the iPod and a connection profile will be downloaded and installed connecting me to the restricted network.

    On the iPad it perpetually spins before it gets to the profile download page. I assume it's that the page can't recognize iPads but it won't even let me connect to the guest network which worked back when the iPod Touch first came out. Anyone have any luck with university networks?
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    CJS7070

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #21
    My guess is that the Mac address of the ipad isn't on the whitelist, but I'm not sure why registration doesn't work on the ipad if it works fine on the iPod...
     
  22. macrumors member

    AWalkerStudios

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #22
    Seriously. I found the direct link to the iPhone Web Profile and emailed it to myself. Hopefully I can find a free wifi connection to see if it will download and work.
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    CJS7070

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #23
    You could try spoofing your Mac address on a different device to get it registered on the network?
     
  24. macrumors member

    AWalkerStudios

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
  25. macrumors 6502a

    CJS7070

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #25
    Not sure, but I know it can be done... Not sure if it will work, though, so you're probably best off calling the help desk.
     

Share This Page