iPhone [Merged] iPhone Users with T-Mobile Service (USA)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by aerospace, Sep 11, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #1
    post which plans work post & prepaid :)

    also a speed test would be cool to compare
     
  2. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #2
    bump...should be more now that the unlock has been out awhile :)
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    #3
    Got it this afternoon. unlocked it with GUI unlocker. fiddled around a bit to make the sms work. now working flawlessly
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    EvilDoc

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Circumventing the multi-verse...
    #4
    And does any one have You Tube working?
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #5
    i got youtube working on both iphone today. i used to youtube activation program floating around but found out that the secret to get it to work was to but the phones back in jail.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    #7
    For those using it on t-mobile without a data plan, what happens if you try to connect to the internet when you're not around wifi? Does it still let you connect and charge per amount of data transfered?
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Location:
    CA
    #8
    in my experience it seems like it wont connect. if i'm out of wifi range i'll just get a dialogue saying "cannot connect to edge, you are not subscribed to edge service." the usage stats also say 0 bytes sent and received. so i think it's pretty safe to assume that my phone is not accessing edge at all.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    #9
    That's good. I was thinking about using it on t-mobile without the data plan and I don't want it to be constantly trying to send data and racking up usage costs.
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    #10
    The guide says:

    What is this proxy settings they speak of?
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #11
    The 5.99 plan will not work on the iphone you can't adjust the proxy settings on the iphone
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #12
    T-zones will work

    I had installed the iPhone software unlock using the Unlock.app process. After going to Settings>General>Network>EDGE I changed APN to wap.voicestream.com, and deleted the entries in Username & Password, leaving them blank. I disabled my WiFi network to test. Went to Safari & I was able to surf no problem using T-zones/Edge. I also could check mail, use Maps etc. No Problems.

    Now mind you, I had already jointed AT&T and activated my phone before all this. Then when I wanted to dump AT&T after a month & go back to T-mobile, I reinitialized my phone & started the Unlock.app process. I had no problems. Worked like a charm.

    Now, my partner just bought an iPhone because I was able to unlock mine. His is not able to use Edge yet, even though he too has T-zones. Only difference is ... he never unlocked his phone with AT&T.

    Now a few days after unlocking my phone with Unlock.app, my TurboSIM came in. Again, I reset my phone and started with the TurboSIM unlock. That to worked without a hitch. I am able to use my T-zones/Edge no problem.

    So draw from this what you like. New phone NOT activated and used on the AT&T edge network ... can't use Edge with T-mobile & T-zones. My iPhone activated with AT&T and used on Edge, then initialized & unlocked with two different methods, can use T-zones. Hmmm ... go figure!

    Okay now ....discuss. :)
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #13
    Help with EDGE data please

    Hey guys, I have an iphone working on T-mobile, with voice and Wifi, but I can't get EDGE to work. I added "Total Internet" for $19.99 and they said it will take up to 48 hours to be added, but it's been longer than that and it still says "You are not subscribed to Edge" when I try to access the Internet.

    I called TMO and they gave me the AP to enter, but when I try to enter it on the iPhone settings it never saves it, and thus doesn't work.

    Help!! The iPhone is great but without EDGE I can't use most the features unless I'm at home.


    Tom
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    #14
    Any T-Mobile iPhone users yet?

    Happy Apple/T-Mobile user for 5 years and AT&T hater here. Got the iPhone unlocked it FREE by following http://iphone.unlock.no. Got Youtube working using PACAY http://limitededitioniphone.com/youtube-not-working-on-your-iphone-steps-to-fix/. I had T-Mobile Web service before ($5.99) along with Hotspot ($19.99) and couldn't make the iPhone EDGE work. Called TMO CS (611 on my iPhone), upgraded to Total Internet ($19.99), which includes Hotspot so I'm actually saving money. EDGE started working immediately after the call. APN=internet2.voicestream.com (blank user/psw). If this doesn't work for you you may be in a GPRS-only zone.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #15
    Bought an iPhone 8GB last night and didn't touch it until this morning. Then activated it and jailed breaked with iNdependence and sim-unlocked with modmyiphone.com's guide. At the end of the guide I saw the already quoted message about the T-Mobile EDGE's Add-on plan and APN name. Went to t-mo's web site, added the Total Internet Add-on online, saw the message about the 48 hours, added the APN name manually to the iPhone and went out. Less then an hour later noticed the "E" letter next to the T-Mobile on the iPhone and tried checking the web. Worked flawlessly, even YouTube. Completely AT&T-less experience.

    EDIT: prior to addint Total Internet Add-on had no data plan whatsoever.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #16
    hmm. i went in today to get off my SK3 plan and put on total internet and my EDGE was activated and working within prolly 20 minutes. was at the mall with my mother and sister and nephew so it's not like i had anything better to do than play with the iphone. only problem i has was the first T-Mobile tech support bitch wouldn't give me my EDGE info because she said that she didn't have any info on the iphone...otherwise it works flawlessly. well, that is, aside from the speed :p
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Location:
    South San Francisco, CA
    #17
    Sidekick iD user here.

    Previously had:
    - $39.99/month myFaves plan
    - $19.99/month unlimited Sidekick plan

    Currently have:
    - $39.99/month 600 Individual Value (600 anytime mins, unlimited nights/weekends)
    - $19.99/month Total Internet Plan
    - $14.99/month Unlimited SMS

    So it's $15/more per month, but the internet is FIFTEEN THOUSAND (hah) times faster than the old Sidekick plan. I've gotten speed tests @ iphonenetworktest.com from 138kbps to 177kbps.

    I unlocked my 4GB iPhone from the http://www.modmyiphone.com/wiki/ guide and been successful with YouTube working and Total Internet working with EDGE within seconds of getting off the phone with the T-Mobile representative.

    This is a hell of a lot better than a Sidekick, for sure.
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    pdpfilms

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Location:
    Vermontana
    #18
    I've got my 8GB iPhone working great on T-Mobile. I'm roaming (and likely will be for most of the phone's life), and EDGE works great. I got the total internet plan, and was wondering if anyone else configured their phone to work at T-Mob hotspots? What are the settings required?
     
  19. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #19
    can you get internet with prepaid? i have good credit but no desire for a 2yr contract.
     
  20. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    #20

    I was wondering if you (or anyone out there) are in an area that T-mobile doesn't offer service. I can't even purchase a plan where I live and was wondering (if you knew) what the best way to get an account with them is...

    Do I need to use a friend's address in their service area to establish the account, then have them change it to my real address later? Or is there a better way?

    Thanks
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #21
  22. macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #22
    tashafa, you da man! (And I take back all the nasty things I have said about newbie posts!)

    That was a scary bit of a hack, but it works like a charm!

    Last night, bought an iPhone at 6:30. Up and running on t_Mobile by 8 PM. This morning, signed up for TZones 5.99 at 9 AM, and I am now on EDGE t-mobile.

    All is good!
     
  23. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #23
    what exactly does tzones offer? i went to tmobile.com but its kinda vague. you get limited net feeds and email or real internet?
     
  24. macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #24
    Aero:

    I get full Internet connectivity- Safari, Maps, You Tube, etc- basically, all you need for the phone. It does NOT include hotspots- if that is iportant to you, you have to get Total Internet.

    Dave
     
  25. macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006

Share This Page