Merom vs. Yonah for gaming

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by bluetorch18, Jul 28, 2006.

  1. bluetorch18 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    #1
    I plan on buying a MacBook Pro as soon as the new ones are announced at WWDC(if they are, which is highly likely). I'm going to be using it for mostly music recording and school, and also gaming, but I'm not sure if it would be worth the extra money. I've seen the Yonah vs. Merom benchmarks, and it seems to me that there is absolutely no difference as far as gaming goes. If this is the case, and Apple doesn't update the graphics chip as well, would I be better off opting for the current generation MacBook Pro at a cheaper price?
     
  2. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    I haven't seen "the benchmarks" so i don't know. My understanding is that Merom will be 20% faster than Yonah while using the same, if not less, power. That Merom will run cooler than Yonah. And that Merom is a drop-in replacement for Yonah.

    The fact that it will run cooler than Yonah is big for me...but if it makes no difference in gaming, it would seem wise to just buy the cheaper one.
     
  3. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #4
    I'm more interested in what graphics card they're going to use in the MBP. I have a 17" MBP, and it handles games beautifully, with the exception of Oblivion and Black and WHite 2 which are a little choppy. I suspect the CPU has plenty of headroom, but the GPU is choking the performance.
     
  4. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #5
    I'd expect only CPU-bound games to see a benefit from using Merom, so it depends on which games were benchmarked on Merom machines.
     
  5. bluetorch18 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    #6
    Hmm...I was under the impression that the MBP ran Oblivion fairly smoothly...maybe I'd just be better off getting a MacBook instead...:confused:
     
  6. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #7
    It does run it smoothly, just not at the highest res with all the options turned up. I'm not happy until I get at least 30fps with all options at max res.
     
  7. bluetorch18 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    #8
    Well, hopefully Apple updates the graphics chip in the current line...any ideas what kind of chip they could use?
     
  8. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #9
    A Mobility Radeon X1800 if it gets an upgrade.
     
  9. kaboutertje macrumors regular

    kaboutertje

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    #10
    Adding a x1800 would give them a huge boost! I hope the macbook gets a dedicated gpu, or that a 13" macbook pro gets announced.
     
  10. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
  11. poppe macrumors 68020

    poppe

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    Woodland Hills
    #12
    While oblivion donesn't run perfect under OS X is it not that if you switch to Bootcamp, it runs alot better? Just thought I read it somewhere in a different thread.

    I too wish they'd step up their pro line... I had my fingers crossed for a 512 vcard at the release of the 17"
     
  12. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #13
    Does Oblivion run under OSX??? I'm running it under boot camp.
     
  13. bluetorch18 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    #14
    Oblivion isn't for OS X, it only runs under bootcamp...a 512mb vcard option in the 15" models would be a very nice thing...but I would be very happy if they upped their cards to the x1800....please apple....please....
     
  14. bluetorch18 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    #15
    MovieCutter, how many FPS would you say you get with everything at max? Also, have you tried turning some things to medium, such as grass, water, etc...after doing some of that, isn't performance extremely smooth and stutter free?
     
  15. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #16
    I don't know, I just got it two days ago. Addicting as crack :cool: . I played with the settings a bit yesterday on my 20" iMac which is my dedicated gaming machine (until next week that is ;)). Same GPU and similar CPU (2.0 vs. 2.16). At full 1650x1050 resolution with everything turned up, no antialiasing, it was really stuttery. I don't know how to check FPS. But I pulled it down to 13xx x 720 and got it a lot smoother. Turned off tree rendering at a distance and turned off the bloom stuff and it was much more playable and much smoother, but with noticeably less sexy detail.
     
  16. bluetorch18 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    #17
    Just out of your personal opinion, do you think it would be better for me to just buy a 360 and opt for the low end MacBook Pro or a MacBook, since I'm not going to be using it for just gaming...I want to play Oblivion without turning too many of the settings down...
     
  17. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #18
    I'd wait until WWDC to see what is unveiled. My biggest problem with gaming on my Mac is the necessity to reboot. It's not a big deal, and I bought an iMac just for boot camp, but the reason I don't game with my 17" MBP which is faster than the iMac is because I don't want to have to reboot to check my email. I refuse to buy a 360 because I'm not convinced the quality is worth the money, same with the games. But that's just me.
     
  18. poppe macrumors 68020

    poppe

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    Woodland Hills
    #19
    Oh man... Talk about sounding dumb there.. My bad.
    I doubt we'll see a better VCard until we see a completely redesigned MBP, and/or at least a year from now. Is it just me or does it seem like they put outstanding high top of the line stuff in their computers except when they get to the GPU? I suppose the G5 is evidence of me being wrong but still...
     
  19. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #20
    The MacBook will probably eventually get an GMA X3000. The GMA X3000 is apparently almost as good as a Radeon X1300. The GMA X3000 can also steal up to 384MB of RAM.
     

Share This Page