MetaX problems

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by aj350z, Jul 10, 2010.

?

Does MetaX work for you?

Poll closed Jul 20, 2010.
  1. Yes

    21 vote(s)
    84.0%
  2. No

    4 vote(s)
    16.0%
  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #1
    Are there really that many people still having problems with metax?

    I have been using it a lot lately for the Mac OS. Both for new movies and old tv shows. It keeps using TagChimp to even find all the data. It even let's me upload to TagChimps site again.

    I'm just wondering because I keep seeing post that people are having troubles with MetaX.
     
  2. macrumors demi-god

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    I did a couple hundred DVD's worth of movies and TV episodes and it worked for me.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    a2applegirl

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #3
    MetaX works fine. You just have to make sure that your titles do not have stuff appended to them. Ripit and handbrake will often add numbers to the end of the title, especially if you tried ripping and encoding the title several times. You need to make sure your title is correct before you use metaX.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    #5
    I've used both the most recent versions for Windows and Mac and have not had any issues yet (I got a Mac Mini not too long ago and was testing converting/tagging videos on both systems).
     
  6. macrumors demi-god

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
    Yes, you can add artwork.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #7
    I tried it and did a big batch of files. In the end, it corrupted about 10% of my files that played just fine before going through MetaX. In some of the corrupted files the audio was stripped out and in the others the audio was present but the video was replaced with black. This was earlier this year with the latest version available at the time.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #8
    Did you use MakeMKV and included some of the subtitles? I find if I keep those subtitles MetaX will have a problem with the .m4v's from handbrake. I did have that problem last year but haven't since I stopped the subtitles.
     
  9. macrumors member

    Chiisu

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    The Mile High Bovine Metropolis
    #9
    Same here...

    I got tired of the hit and miss nature of MetaX. I haven't had any issues since I switched to Subler.
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Location:
    In Hell
    #10
    I agree Subler is a much better program, heaps quicker than MetaX.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #11
    Nope. Mine were straight rips from Handbrake with (at the time) default Apple TV settings.
     

Share This Page