Metric system in the usa

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Mac'nCheese, May 2, 2011.

1. macrumors 68020

Mac'nCheese

I remember in elementary school, learning about the metric system since we were all going to switch to it. That never happened. I wonder why....

2. macrumors P6

iJohnHenry

A fair question.

Ask NASA about the 'problem' with the Mars orbiter. :D

3. macrumors 6502a

steadysignal

mac -

i really wish we could have gotten there.

it seems so foreign now, but in a system where all is divisible by ten makes life very easy.

but, we'll keep using our libres and ounces and such...the imperial way.

meh.

4. macrumors 6502

According to this article, the metric system was supposed to be almost fully implemented in the US by 2000, but because of a lack of enough public and government support through the 70s-90s the program essentially got shut down.

As an engineering student, I hope we will switch soon. The metric system makes so much more sense and is far easier to learn. Even for more common measurements (How many teaspoons/tablespoons in a cup again? Yards in a mile?), SI is a far superior system.

I think the biggest obstacle right now is the older generations who have grown up with imperial units and don't want to learn a new system. It should at least be taught equally in schools so a future switch won't cause as much resistance.

5. macrumors P6

dukebound85

SI is superior in conversions only
    Imperial is superior as I actually have a feel for the numbers

6. macrumors G4

Rodimus Prime

You missed the fact that so many of our cook books are in standard US units and that not going to changed.

I think SI for a lot of things is just better but things like miles, MPH ect are just not going to get phased out they are to much the norm i everything we use.

I tend to jump between the 2 fairly easily.

7. macrumors 68040

Apple OC

a lb. of butter is still called a lb. of butter here in Canada

8. Moderator emeritus

grapes911