MIC TIPS for improving vocals in Garage Band?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by alaimo, Jan 14, 2006.

1. alaimo macrumors newbie

I'm a newbie to Garage Band and lovin' it. Here's my problem... I added some vocals using a cheap pencil mic (don't we all have one that came with a cassette recorder?). The actual voice quality was OK but there's some nasty ambient noise that I couldn't control... a faint hum. I tried wrapping a foam bed pad around myself trying to muffle it. Ultimately, I used the equalizer in G. Band to lessen the interference which helped a bit.

Any suggestions on what to do? I did read a forum on the best mic for Garage Band (originally posted here last year). But it was very brand specific and I don't really have money for a $100+ mic, a sound dampening stand, a pre-amp, blah, blah, blah. Maybe it's just the flimsy cord on the mic creating feedback?

Thanks in advance....

2. alaimo thread starter macrumors newbie

posting a reply to my own question...

Sorry --- I'm new to this forum and didn't use the 'search forum' function on this before posting. What's different about my problem is that the actual sound from the cheapie mic is adequate for my homemade 'songs'... the range is decent and there's plenty of volume (it's not surpressed as with someone in a previous forum), and it's not the computer's fan I'm hearing. I think I may just need a beefier more shielded cable for the mic.

Still open to your feedback!!

3. steelphantom macrumors 6502a

steelphantom

4. faintember macrumors 65816

faintember

Well unfortunately with microphones the amount of money spent is directly correlated to the quality of the results!

Is the hum medium to high pitched, or low pitched? It is def. not feedback.

The main things you could do with your setup is this:

Get the mic as far away from the computer as possible, as any electric current can cause hum on recordings. Even if you have to use an extension cable for the mic, it is worth it.