Microphone in Garageband Not Showing Up.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Sicarius, Mar 12, 2007.

  1. Sicarius macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    Tennessee.
    #1
    The microphone, as it works in Garageband, will not register, whether I do audio podcast, music project, whatever. I find this odd, because it works in everything else. Is there a way to enable/disable it just for Garageband?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    In the Garageband Preferences, what does it say under Audio Input in the Audio/MIDI section? Is this the built in microphone? What sort of system and setup are you running? :)
     
  3. Sicarius thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    Tennessee.
    #3
    It says built-in mic. I'm using a black C2D Macbook.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    If you open a new user account, is the microphone recognised in that version of Garageband? :)
     
  5. Sicarius thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    Tennessee.
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Okay, well if Garageband is the only app with any troubles, then find a file named com.apple.garageband.plist in your Preferences folder and drag it to the Desktop. This is in reference to your main account, by the way. Do this while Garageband is closed, restart it and see how things go from there. :)
     

Share This Page