Microsoft accidentally distributes virus...

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Rower_CPU, Jun 16, 2002.

  1. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #1
    and no, it's not Windows.

    From a CNET article:
    The article can be found here.
     
  2. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #2
    All I can say is that it serves them right... :D

    Yet ANOTHER reason to go with a Mac.. :D
     
  3. britboy macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #3
    Re: Microsoft accidentally distributes virus...

    You're right there. Windows was distributed on purpose :p

    Don't you just love it? Can they not do a single thing without cocking it up in some way or another?
     
  4. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    HAHAHAHA! Damn, I just love M$ :p
    Shame they didn't accidently send it to the US Government (or another collection of equally powerful people), can u imagine the impact it would have, M$ would be knee deep in the sh*t and law suits! Ha! :p :D
     
  5. MacAztec macrumors 68040

    MacAztec

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    #5
    Heheh....

    Damn, just shows how MANY viruses there are for a Peecee....
     
  6. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #6
    Re: Heheh....

    Yeah, and how 'secure' m$ really is... :D
     
  7. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #7
    Re: Re: Heheh....

    Yup, I ran Winblows update just a couple of days ago, and oh, what a suprise...yet another couple of security updates!
     
  8. firewire2001 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    haha.. love hearing stories like this..

    at my school last year i was a teacher assistant for the media center -- where all the books and computers (windows 95 machines) and stuff are and the librarian, which wasnt too knowledgable about computers, bought 100 unformatted diskettes so it was my job to format them. little did they know they happened to have viruses on all the computers i had to format the disks with and so they had 100 diskettes with viruses on them that they sold for several weeks, redistributing the virus over the whole school, and the kids computers at home...

    they finally figured out it was cause of the disks i had formatted :D ..
     
  9. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #9
    Re: Re: Re: Heheh....

    Seems like every other day m$ has either security updates or critical updates out. Makes you seriously wonder about how shotty the code is that they use. From what I have heard, xp is no different then any other version released in the past.
     
  10. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #10
    Re: Re: Re: Re: Heheh....

    Actually Alpha, it's been pretty good for me...well...relatively anyway, it's the best so far ;)
    I have only recently become a big Mac user and am very quickly moving away from the wintel platform all together, all though it still has it's uses for me.
     
  11. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
  12. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #12
    I presume you talking to me?
    I'm running the final build (2600) of Windows XP Professional Corporate Edition with all the current updates.
     
  13. MacAztec macrumors 68040

    MacAztec

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    #13
    Hehe...

    Just talked to my friend. And guess what, his Peecee has a virus!

    Sux for him...
     
  14. TypeR389 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle
    #14
    Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Heheh....

    I agree, I run 2000 Advanced Server on my machine at home and XP on my laptop. They both are very sold machines, though XP does need some good power behind it to run well (RAM, CPU) 2000 is as solid, but without all the bells and whistles on XP. Funny thing is the ONLY feature I ever use on XP that is not native to 2000 us the nice little photo album view mode for certain folders. Everything else is a waste in my opinion, but the extra device support is nice. At least when Apple went from OS9 to OSX, there are a TON of benifits/features that you know you are getting, so at least you know what is causing the slight slowdown...
     
  15. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #15
    Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Heheh....

    I agree that there are not alot of differences between Win2000 and WinXP other that visual, but don't forget there build is almost the same.
    Windows 2000 was NT 5.0, Windows XP is NT 5.1...not much of a difference really, I guess m$ did not feel that the changes were big enough to call it NT 6.0.
     
  16. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #16
    Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Heheh....

    And not worth the price they want to 'upgrade' from 2000 pro to hexpee for me. I have win2k on the game pc, and cannot justify the $200 price that m$ wants for me to 'upgrade' to a slightly newer version of windblows.

    I can think of many things that I would rather spend my $200 on.
     
  17. Rower_CPU thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #17
    Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Heheh....

    Like VPC5 + XP...stupid MS.:rolleyes:
     
  18. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #18
    Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Heheh....

    Actually, I was thinking more along the lines of things for the motorcycle, or kitchen. :D Been thinking about getting a food processor. :D I have a new saddle coming soon, just waiting for it to ship from CA, where it is being made. They make them to order, unlike some companies. :D

    I have no need for VPC at either home or work. I do all my 'work' at home on the PowerBook, and I can always fire up the game pc if I need to (for things other then games). At work, I have my G4 tower, and soon I will have a pc desktop too. That way, when I need to run some pc software (for work) I can, without running VPC.
     
  19. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #19
    Yet another scene in the upcoming movie:

    Microsoft 2002:
    A Comedy of Errors

    That movie is geting really long... and it's only June!
     
  20. Rower_CPU thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #20
    I know...I was just pointing out the ridiculous pricing.

    MS sells XP for $200
    Connectix sells VPC5+XP for $200

    What gives? MS just enjoys gouging people.

    That's why I'm happy to be selling my PC to start my G5 savings fund. By the time I've got 4-5k stashed away, Apple should have a sweet system for me.:D
     
  21. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #21
    Like you really needed to ask??? :D

    I plan on paying down my card in preparation for the G5 and when it actually has been out for a bit. I figure I should be ready in about a year or two. I figure on getting one from the somewhere between the second and fourth speed bump. That way, any bugs that crop up in the design will be hammered out, and other improvements will be made. Makes you wonder what OS version will be out by then as well. :D

    Oh, and I am fairly certain that the way VPC is packaged with the OS, it's not installed from a 'normal' m$ install cd. It was that way when I installed VPC 5 with win2k on a system at work. The one application it needed to run, didn't work because of the way it handles IP addresses and the VPN system down at corporate. :rolleyes:
     
  22. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #22
    So that would be the third, then? :p
     
  23. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #23
    Ummmmm, no, since I might get the second, third, fourth or might be forced to wait longer. It all comes down to what kind of bonuses I see at the end of this year and what I see for an increase. Once I have one bill eliminated, I will be getting ready for the computer. I would rather save up a good size chunk before purchasing it. I won't need a screen, since the LCD I have has inputs for two screens. :D
     
  24. Grokgod macrumors 6502a

    Grokgod

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Location:
    Deep within the heart of madness!
    #24
    Accidental my a$$!

    I think that Micro$ does these things on purpose.
    These events and similar ones are just TOO stupid.

    They can't actually be happening without being premeditated!
     

Share This Page