Microsoft Flight Sim on Intel Mac?

Discussion in 'Games' started by digitaldave, Apr 6, 2006.

  1. digitaldave macrumors regular

    digitaldave

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #1
    Has anyone that's got Boot Camp working got a copy of MS FS2004 that they could try on an Intel Mac? I'd love to know how well it works.

    Thanks :).
     
  2. simtrac@tiscali macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    #2
    Yep - it works really well. In my case, much better than my PC (AMD 3000, 512 RAM, Geforce 5600xt) but then with those specs I suppose it would.

    I'm on a Macmini, 1.66 dual with 1gb RAM. The only thing I can't do is anti-aliasing because the chipset doesn't support that for Directx. But who cares - I can fly the PMDG 737 and at one point I was getting over 50 fps in the virtual cockpit (before I was lucky to get 18)!!

    The only reason I turn the PC on now is to network to it to get all my FS stuff off and onto the Mac. Then it's going to be a jukebox. And when I get an external drive for the mini, its going to go to charity ...

    Simon
     
  3. digitaldave thread starter macrumors regular

    digitaldave

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #3
    Simon,

    That's great to hear, thanks for the update :).
     
  4. Whiteapple macrumors regular

    Whiteapple

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    Haute Savoie,France
    #4
    Uhh...
    FX5600xt I'm pretty sure is better than the integrated intel chipset.
    As for the processor, I would tend to say they are pretty similar (my xp 3000+ runs at 2,16Ghz, and you could say the mini runs at 1,66x2Ghz...not as much in fact..but still). I think its crazy for the fps, but good for you in fact:)
     
  5. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #5
    The Dual 1.66GHz would not be any different to a Solo 1.66GHz in gaming.
     
  6. millar876 macrumors 6502a

    millar876

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Location:
    Peterhead, Scotland UK
    #6
    it runs about even (but slightly slower) on my iMac (intel 2.0, 02" 2GB ram 128MB x1600) than my PeeCee (athalon XP 3200 @ 2.31GHz, 1GB Dual chanel DDR 400MHz nVidia 6800 Ultra-421MHz 256MB GDDR3-1.13GHZ) but i think thats just down to the deefcake of a GPU ive got in the Pee Cee. BUT Definetly very playable
     
  7. thomasandgil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    #7
    any further updates on FS9 performance on imac intel duo?

    Hi Guys, these last postings in regards to Microsoft Flight Simulator 9 were a couple of weeks ago. Wondering if anyone has any further updates......
     

Share This Page