Microsoft offers Office workaround

Discussion in 'MacBytes.com News Discussion' started by MacBytes, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. macrumors bot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    #1
  2. macrumors 65816

    arkmannj

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    UT
    #2
    umm

    Couldn't MS have just written a quick Applescript to accomplish this same thing ?
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    impierced

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    #3
    Does make me chuckle. This from the largest software vendor on the planet. :rolleyes:
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    #4
    Or how about a shell script?
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    sudo chown -h -R root:admin /Applications/Microsoft\ Office\ 2008
    sudo chown -h -R root:admin /Library/Automator
    sudo chown -h -R root:admin /Library/Fonts/Microsoft
    sudo chown -h -R root:admin /Library/Application Support/Microsoft
    They could have done the same thing with the executable problem by making everything not executable and then going back and fixing the few items that need to be executable.

    How long would that have taken them? A half hour, if they milked it?
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    winmacguy

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    With a team of 19 people and endless meetings it would probably take them....a couple of weeks if they moved..... quickly. ;)
     

Share This Page