Microsoft offers OS X Dashboard widget

Discussion in 'MacBytes.com News Discussion' started by MacBytes, Apr 20, 2007.

  1. macrumors bot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
  2. Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Kepler-452b
    #2
    Well that didn't take long!
     
  3. macrumors 601

    DMann

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Location:
    10023
    #3
    Live search widget

    True, only 2 years, compared to Google, which had widgets available when Tiger was released. :p
     
  4. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  5. macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    How could they have PPC only preference bugs, didn't they do it in Dashcode/Xcode? :rolleyes:.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #6
    How do you say: "Why is Microsoft's Live Search widget in French?" in French?
    :confused:
     
  7. Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #7
    Quelle tragédie.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Location:
    Hollywood, FL
    #8
    Other than the average user, I don't know who uses Live Search.
    I think most people use it by mistake when they type stuff on their IE7 search box.
    Meh.
     
  9. macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #9
    POST OF THE DAY!!!
     
  10. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    It's kind of sad that Microsoft is touting its own product as "cool" in 2007.... :(
     
  11. macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    I thought that was the first rule of being cool, that if you say you are, you aren't.
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    elppa

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    #12
    I don't like bashing MS just for the sake of it, but this thing looks ugly, very ugly:

    [​IMG]
     
  13. macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #13
    I disagree. I think Microsoft has done a very good job of giving it the OS X glassy/reflective look, right down to the exact shine on the oval button. It's not perfect--a little sloppy and cluttered--but it's definitely taking pains to share the look of Apple's OS X artistry. Kudos!
     
  14. macrumors 68030

    Analog Kid

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    #14
    I agree it's not ugly, but is that an OS X look or a Vista look? Hard to tell the difference sometimes...
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #15
    Microsoft can't get us to move to Vista, so now they're bringing as much of it as they can to OS X.
     
  16. macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
  17. macrumors 68020

    winmacguy

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #17
    I downloaded it and added it to my widgets last night. I haven't had any problems with it. It was pretty good at finding some pretty obscure New Zealand place names:D
     
  18. macrumors 68040

    elppa

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    #18

    Kudos!

    It completely disregards some of the widget design guidelines.

    The more I look at it the worse it gets.

    I have done a quick evaluation.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Location:
    Mid-west, USA
    #19
    No, no, they're saying Apple's Dashboard is cool. Which we already know -- they copied it in Vista, after all :p. The widget itself is underwhelming, compared to its Vista counterparts
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    #20
    I don't care so much that it looks clunky. What bothers me is that it's another attempt to leverage their OS monopoly with no consideration for Mac users. They think they can make look sort of like an OS X widget and we'll just eat it up. It's insulting.
     
  21. macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #21
    Agreed. My (subtly snide) point exactly :)
     
  22. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #22
    Why did they even bother??
    Seems like the most useless widget ever.
     
  23. macrumors 68030

    Analog Kid

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    #23
    Doh! I hate it when I miss subtle and snide... :eek:

    Because maybe, just maybe, someone might use Live search...
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #24
    does anyone actually use live search?

    I've tried it and it is really (in my experience) a sham of a search engine.

    which may be due to me being on a mac. I've noticed certain things in live search don't work on macs, like maps and such. I don't think that should affect search results though...:rolleyes:
     
  25. Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #25
    Made by Microsoft?

    Info.Plist reads

    CFBundleIdentifier com.apple.widget.SimpleSearch

    No way would microsoft let this one out, the word .plist file is called "com.microsoft.Word.plist"

    Also there are spelling mistakes inside the widget for example "Ressources"

    Also doesn't really look like their gadget.

    To conclude someone else made the widget in my opinion. All i took was a little investigative work, and I'm not a journalist.
     

Share This Page