Microsoft Remote Desktop Connection

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by GregE, Dec 30, 2007.

  1. GregE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #1
    I want to be able to connect into my PC at work and control it. I can currently do it with pcAnywhere as well as RDC. I'm wondering if I am safe putting Microsoft's Remote Desktop Connection on my iMac. I kind of hate to use it since it is MS but if that's the best way to do it, I will.

    Also, how easy is it to remove from my iMac? Is there an uninstall program like on PC's?

    Thanks
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I definitely recommend LogMeIn :)

    Just install it on the PC after making an account and your good to go...
     
  3. GregE thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #3
    Are you using the free version? Do you install software on both the PC and the Mac? Is it easy to uninstall from the Mac (I never have tried to uninstall from a Mac before). I definitely don't want to pay a monthly fee since I don't need to use it every day.

    Anybody used MS RDC?
     
  4. dec0de macrumors newbie

    dec0de

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #4
    I also do alot of RDC to Windows computers because my company is a full windows domain. I use a app called CoRD and its been everything I could ask for and more check it out.

    http://cord.sourceforge.net/
     
  5. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    You install the free thing on the PC and control it through your browser on the Mac, its easy, and plenty fast enough with many options should you want them :)
     
  6. GregE thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #6
    Does it work right with MS RDC that is on my XP PC's?
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    I just tested it and it works just like RDC 2.0 minus a lot of features.
     
  8. GregE thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #8
    Any important features missing? Just curious.
     
  9. dec0de macrumors newbie

    dec0de

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #9
    IMO .. it has all the features that I personally need. I also like the fact that I can rescale the windows, I dedicate one of my spaces to CoRD and its just like your sitting at the box.
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    All those little bandwidth conserving toggle and pretty much entire preference pane.

    CoRD works but it's just meh...
     
  11. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #11
    Just FYI, LogMeIn lets you change many things including the amount of colour, for speedy connections. Luckily I'm always operating with >8MB broadband :)
     
  12. GregE thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #12
    Does the free version let you transfer files? I just tried CoRD and it let me access a PC I have set up at work for RDC but to connect to my PC I may want to transfer files sometimes.
     
  13. GregE thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #13
    What do you like to use Eidorian?
     
  14. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #14
    I use RDC 2.0 Beta.
     
  15. GregE thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #15
    And you like it? Any problems with it?
     
  16. macDonalds macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #16
    I've been using RDC for maybe six months or so. It does the job, however in Leopard there's a minor issue -- sometimes you'll start typing in all caps in Windows and need to turn caps lock on. Outside of that minor annoyance it's just fine.
     
  17. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #17
    It works just fine.
     

Share This Page