Microsoft warns of a score of security flaws....Which includes Office v. x for Mac.

Discussion in 'Current Events' started by SiliconAddict, Oct 12, 2004.

  1. SiliconAddict macrumors 603

    SiliconAddict

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #1
    Well I guess the Royal Navy can start their patching then....

    Microsoft warns of a score of security flaws

    And apparently MS didn't want to leave Mac users out of all the fun....
    How very thoughtful of them....

    Here is the technote on the issue: Technote on the Office v flaw



    Can't you just feel the love? :rolleyes:
     
  2. brap macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #2
    I can't see how this works:
    ...so, if someone happens to have sudo'd just before loading the malicious file, then they're at risk? I don't get it.

    How typically vague.

    Oh! That makes it alright then!

    It's good to see the hackers are responsible. (begins patching software...)
     
  3. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #3
    A limited user is at less risk than an administrative user, and an administrative user is at less risk than the root user (invoked via sudo or other means). It works much the same way on Windows.
     
  4. 5300cs macrumors 68000

    5300cs

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    japan
    #4
    I found this 'candid' picture of some m$ programmers on break.

    [​IMG]


    Seriously though, can those retards write even one piece of software that isn't full of security flaws? I suppose there's still m$ Bob... :rolleyes:

    note: the pic ain't mine, I just found it
     
  5. Elan0204 macrumors 65816

    Elan0204

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    At least the security flaw was fixed (intentionally or by accident) in MS Office 2004.
     
  6. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #6
    How easy would it be for MS to provide Mac users an Office version with a single major flaw and screw up Apple's virus-free atmosphere? WHile I actually like Office and don't see why so many people complain about it, it's still a concern for me to let a company like MS create flawed software for the Mac. And you know that MS software will be flawed in many ways...
     
  7. Loge macrumors 68020

    Loge

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #7
    At least they do have a fix available - follow the link on the tech note.
     
  8. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #8
    gotta love that pic , lol . as always micro$oft always seems to mess things up , at least they have a fix for it sort of.
     
  9. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #9
    I think that if Microsoft didn't fix the problem the potential would be there to loose Mac business completely. Apple could always bring back AppleWorks. :D
     
  10. kgarner macrumors 68000

    kgarner

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
    #10
    It would take a bit more than just "bringing back" AppleWorks in order to replace Office, but I think you are right about losing Mac business. If I remember right, most of the viruses and so forth for pre-OS X systems were Microsoft related as well (macro viruses and such). I think that Apple can still retain it's title as virus free as the flaw was not their fault, but the fault of the most security-challenged OS on the planet.
     
  11. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #11
    If you've got Office 2004, get that SP1 installed.

    Ugh, there are two separate threads on this? Office 2004 does contain this flaw as well, SP1 includes a patch for it. Presumably they announced it separately so as not to call attention to this slipping through in a product released after the big security push.
     
  12. srobert macrumors 68020

    srobert

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #12
    Can they make anything right! I just installed Microsoft Office 2004's patch using their auto-update tool. It went smoothly (or so it seems). When it was done installing, I ran excel, looked fine but... when I tried to quit excel, I got this message: "Compile error in hidden module: AutoExec". Thanks for making it worst Microsoft. Gawd! can they put a little more effort in their craft? My apps never crash... except when I use a Microsoft App or Quark. Sorry for venting but I really did'nt need that kind of update. :(

    Hidden Modules? Error? AutoExec? Wow! that felt sooooo Windows.

    Edit:

    The darned error message is still there after a restart. Microsoft auto-update sees my office as up-to-date. Anyone know of a way to uninstall the patch aside from reinstalling Office from scratch?
     
  13. hulugu macrumors 68000

    hulugu

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Location:
    the faraway towns
    #13
    I agree, the OS is still robust, but you can blame those 'monkeys at MS' for screwing up yet again.
     
  14. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #14
    Damn near busted a gut! Funny! :D :D :D

    Sushi
     
  15. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #15
    HA! They've been bitten by their own security fix!

    Just for grins look at the add-ins under the Tools menu and see what's installed. I'm very curious to learn if this one is Microsoft's or Adobe's fault.
     
  16. srobert macrumors 68020

    srobert

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #16
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    :(
     
  17. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #17
    OK then, they messed up their own interpreter. Genius :D
     
  18. srobert macrumors 68020

    srobert

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    #18
    Patching the patch

    Ok. Seems I'm not the only one with this problem. Here is a "fix". (Not from Microsoft)

    - - - - - - - - - -

    From: Beth Rosengard

    1. In the Finder, do a "Find" for "PDFMaker". You will probably discover
    These annoying files in three Startup folders (Word, Excel, PowerPoint),
    namely PDFMaker.dot, PDFMaker.xla and PDFMaker.ppa Trash the files. Read number 2 before trashing

    2. In place of each of them, create a new blank *folder* with the names,
    respectively, of PDFMaker.dot, PDFMaker.xla and PDFMaker.ppa.

    3. When you open Acrobat you may be told there is a discrepancy and
    asked whether you want it repaired. Click "Don't ask me again" and "No"
    to the repair question.

    The result is that when you open Acrobat, it will "see" that you already
    have a PDFMaker.dot or .xla in folder form and will not create another nor
    overwrite what's there (since a file can't overwrite a folder).

    - - - - - - - - - -
    From: The Terminator

    Yes it does work...but what if we want the PDFMaker toolbar? Did SP1 "break" it until Adobe fixes it?

    - - - - - - - - - -

    From: Beth Rosengard

    From what I understand you don't need it. All it does is duplicate
    functions/commands already inherent in Word/OS X. However if you really
    want it, keep it; but I guess you'll have to put up with the error message.

    I have already reported this to MS and if I hear anything, I'll post back on
    this thread.

    - - - - - - - - - -
     
  19. Sedulous macrumors 68000

    Sedulous

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    #19
    Stinkin' Microsoft

    I installed Office Update and what does it do? It deleted all the Office.apps. Well, pretty sound logic: I won't be able to get a virus cause of Word if the updater removes Word! Of course the log file doesn't seem to mention this. Easy enough to reinstall Office, but sheesh, what a lame update.
     
  20. ASP272 macrumors 6502

    ASP272

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    Nashville, TN

Share This Page