Mid 2011 iMac being slow.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by SupaLawlCat, Apr 8, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    #1
    Hi. My dad's iMac has been running really slow lately, and he asked me if I knew what was wrong since I am fairly tech-savvy.

    Unfortunately I pretty much only know about PCs, and hardware in general. (I build gaming PCs and stuff, but have very little experience with OSX.)

    Anyway, I don't really know what is going on. A 2.5 GHz i5 combined with 4GB of DDR3 should be able to handle OSX.

    From what I can tell from the "Activity Monitor" it may be the RAM, though I am not that familiar with how OSX allocates memory and swap-space and whatnot. During regular use there is only between 10MB and 300MB free and about 500MB on the swap. In Windows that would be terrible, but as I said, I don't really know how OSX handles memory.

    There aren't a bunch of programs open simultaneously. All that is open most of the time is Safari, Mail and iTunes.

    If I were to upgrade the RAM, would something like this do?
    http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145280

    Based on the specifications it should. (DDR3 10600 1333MHz.)

    I've seen some sticks that say they work for sure with iMacs, but they are all ridiculously overpriced. I saw one 4GB stick for $70. The 16GB of DDR3 1866 in my computer only cost a little more than that.

    Thanks,
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    #2
    Activity Monitor also lists the running programs. What is listed as using the most CPU activity? If it really does need more ram, my suggestion is to go to www.crucial.com and use their ram selector.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia.
    #3
    That iMac will have 4 RAM slots, so you can upgrade to 8GB by adding another 2 x 2GB SO-DIMMs. A lot of people will have these lying around after upgrading their 2011 machines so you should be able to pick up a pair cheap.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4621
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    #4
    According to that the RAM I linked will work.


    There isn't anything unusual in the activity monitor. Something along the lines of "kernel_task" or something is using up the most, and even that is only 500MB with like "1.5" on the CPU. (Is that a percent?)


    So is the RAM the problem?
     
  5. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #5
    Post a screenshot of Activity Monitor with ALL processes, CPU processes on top.

    To make a screenshot hold Command-Shift-4 then hit the SpaceBar and click on the window, attach here.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    #6
    Maybe... as suggested, it would be better if you posted a screen capture. Here's a link to an Apple article about Activity Monitor http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1342
     

Share This Page