middleclick > new tab in safari?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by steelfist, Oct 1, 2005.

  1. steelfist macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    #1
    i'm very used to firefox on my pc, where if you middle click on a link or bookmark, it will open in a new tab in the background.

    i liked it, but when i started using my ibook that is new, i missed that feature. i have to right-click, and find open in new tab. i want this feature.

    does anybody know how? i searched in google, and people say that this is already possible, but on my safari in Tiger it won'twork. is it a left out feature in safari RSS? :confused:
     
  2. fartheststar macrumors 6502a

    fartheststar

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #2
    You should be able to assign it to your mouse.... I can.... (using mouse works, but I think there are ways, it's just to get your mouse to do Apple-T)
     
  3. AmericanIdiot12 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Location:
    Down the street from Jiv3turkey748
    #3
    when i middle click it does open in a new tab

    i think its in safari preferences somewhere
     
  4. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #4
    If you only have trackpad or a one-button (or two-button, for that matter) mouse without scroller, cmd-clicking will open links in a new tab, in Safari (if tabbed browsing is enabled).

    If you have a scroll-mouse the middle button will open links in new tabs in Safari, too...
     
  5. steelfist thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    #5
    that's weird. i use the mx 518 logitech mouse with logitech mac drivers and it won't work! and i have tabbed browsing on!
     
  6. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #6
    Logitech doesn't always work properly with Mac OS X.

    Ironically Microsoft mice, wired or wireless, along with almost all cheapa** no-name USB scroll wheel mice, will work very well...
     
  7. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #7
    Many times, the the logitech windows divers don't map the middle button to the middle button. (does that make sense?) It may be true for the mac drivers as well. Go into the drivers and make sure the middle button is set to the middle button and not something like scroll or something.
     
  8. maxterpiece macrumors 6502a

    maxterpiece

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    #8
    if you can't get the middle button to be assigned as 'middle button' then just use your mouse software to assign the middle button to do a 'command-click'. You can probably assign it so it only does this in safari.
     
  9. steelfist thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    #9
    fixed the problem. the middle mouse button option for configuring buttons dosen't exist in the preferences. i redownloaded the logitech drivers and selected uninstal option and restarted it.

    now i can enjoy the stuff my firefox on pc does! however, the default mouse drivers is kinda annoying....any suggestions? the logitech mouse driver dosen't have that slow movement REALLY slow mouse curser movement and a bit faster REALLY fast movement issue.

    BTW, i know about USB overdrive, and i don't have a single penny in my bank account because i don't have ONE! :D
     

Share This Page