Midi input too "quiet"?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by patniemeyer, Jul 14, 2004.

  1. patniemeyer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis
    #1
    Ok, this really feels like a stupid question, but... When I record midi from my Yamaha P90 keyboard in GarageBand the level is very low... hard to use. I know I can crank up the track volume, but even maxed out it's not close to peak. And of course I've tried the volume slider on the keyboard, but it does nothing (as I would expect when sending midi).

    Can someone tell me what I'm missing?

    Thanks,
    Pat Niemeyer
    Author of Learning Java, O'Reilly & Associates
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Guess what - it's a QuickTime issue. Try converting a MIDI to MP3 or AAC in iTunes (with Sound Check off) to see what I mean. Then play the file in QuickTime Player and compare it to the original MIDI to further reinforce the point. I think I'll submit a bug report to Apple about this - it's annoying.
    EDIT: Submitted bug report to Apple.
     
  3. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #3
    i think i've been having the same problem, when recording on my PB via the line-in, everything seems to be 'muted' somewhat.

    so is there a way to fix this, or stop it from happening? is there any way to fix the volume levels by converting the file or doing anything to it? :confused: this has to be one of the most annoying things to happen to me... :mad:
     
  4. johnnowak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    New York, New York
    #4
    cb911:

    That has nothing to do with the topic of this thread (which I know nothing about as I dont use Garageband). You simply need to increase the level of the signal going into your computer. If you are running a microphone into a *line input*, you really need a preamp most likely.
     
  5. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #5
    oh ok. thanks johnnowak. i'll try that but from what i've recorded it seems to be a weird problem... but i'll try that.

    i dont' really know what this thread is about either, since i dont' use GarageBand. :p
     

Share This Page