Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bov

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 21, 2007
San Francisco
Hi guys, i am a guitarist in a band and trying to incorporate more elements into my music. My band plays alternative/indie rock. Some bands i really like are Radiohead, Menomena, MGMT, and Ratatat. So i would like to head in that direction.

In my band, i would like to use a midi keyboard/synth to try to 'fill in gaps' that a 2 guitar, 1 bass, drum band sometimes lacks, if that makes any sense at all. I also want to try to make some cool hip hop beats and some Ratatat-like beats, but thats just on the side.

I am currently trying to decide between either getting a Midi Keyboard or a Synthesizer (considering M-Audio Axiom 49 and MicroKorg), but am unclear of the major differences between the two. Some questions i have are: What can a midi keyboard do that a synth cant do? and the other way around. I know that a midi keyboard can store sounds in a bank, but does that mean i can perform live without a laptop? Do midi keyboards usually have a looping feature built in? Will i be able to make beats with a synth?

Well thats all i can think of for now. :p My budget is probably around $400 max

thanks guys, let me know what you recommend

Ploki

macrumors 601
Jan 21, 2008
you have to imagine a midi instrument like this:
a controller for triggering sounds that goes to the module that produces the sound.
like, midi controller is the piano hammer, and sound module is piano strings.

Midi keyboard(controller) does not play ANY sounds.
Synth is actually a combination of a controller and a built-in sound module.

for 400$, you can get a very very decent controller, and probably a crappy synth.
you cannot play live with a controller, except if you buy an external module (be it rack synth, computer loaded with software instruments,or just using a module part of a keysynth)

headfuzz

macrumors 6502