Midi over airport help!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mymemory, Dec 29, 2005.

  1. mymemory macrumors 68020

    mymemory

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Location:
    Miami
    #1
    Hi

    I have two powerbooks with tiger, I have a midi keyboard connected to one of them and with the midi interface and all the setup working fine with Digital Performer.

    I have another powerbook without any midi device. I fallowed the instructions and one PB can recognize the other one via airport, but I do not manage to see the midiset up of the first one on the second one. There is something the manual is not saying.

    I can see PB one present on the setup window of the 2nd one in the network setup window, but I cannot manage to see the actual network diagram of devices of the first one in the second one as it should.

    Please let me know asap! thanx.
     
  2. mymemory thread starter macrumors 68020

    mymemory

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Location:
    Miami
    #2
    Please help, because Apple did a poor job with the HELP on this one. Thanx.
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    Mmmm...are you sure that MIDI devices can be shared over ethernet / wifi networks?
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    You can pass MIDI information between the two via a MIDI cable, or network MIDI information with Tiger using Applications:Utilities: Audio MIDI Setup: MIDI: and double click on the Network icon. I assume you have gotten thos far.

    Have you created a Session and enabled it, and attached the networked computer to that session?

    Sorry, I don't have 2 machines set up to try it at the moment.

    There are also third-party drivers to convert MIDI to/from Ethernet network packets. I found a couple of references
    NetMIDI, MIDIoverLan
    a forum discussion
    and a reference to Wormhole2 for audio over LAN

    But remember: a LAN is not optimized for continuous delivery of information in time, it is bursty (ams especially if it is wireless), while your MIDI and audio streams have little tolerance for timing variances in data delivery, so you may have unacceptably high latency. Don't forget to turn off file sharing and Appletalk and any other network processes. A wired Ethernet connection would be better... preferably with a 100 BT switch or GbEN.
     
  5. mymemory thread starter macrumors 68020

    mymemory

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Location:
    Miami
    #5
    Yes, I fallowed the instructions with the two machines side by side and in theory I should be able to see in one computer what is connected in the other one but nothing. The instructions doesn't say what the "slave" computer should do. I was with a friend of mine who knows about midi and we couldn't get the thing to work.

    I am going to be sending just a few midi messages, one key every other second, latency won't be an issue.

    Well, let see.

    Thanx

    =(
     

Share This Page